1. Trouble with the game?
    Try the troubleshooter!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.35 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Linux Port – Feedback, Known Issues, and FAQ

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by Car_Killer, Jun 13, 2022.

  1. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    250
    I've the same issue with my G29 and my Logitech Attack 3 (Joystick which I use as a handbrake).
    Even when I assign steering just to the X-Axis of my wheel, tilting the joystick in it's X-Axis also steers the car. This makes the Joystick as a Handbrake basically unusable, as it's very hard to ONLY tilt it in one direction and not even a slight amount to the left/right.
     
  2. MarcusStuff_

    MarcusStuff_
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2023
    Messages:
    1
    uh... I'm on Ubuntu 20.04 and when I open that file it says that there is no application to open SharedLib files. Any help? I'm a linux noob
     
  3. kingdomoflinux

    kingdomoflinux
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Messages:
    37
    Latest Proton Experimental has this on the changelog:
    • Improve force feedback compatibility for BeamNG and Forza Horizon 5
    Any idea what this fixes and for what version of the game? I guess the DX11 instead of the Windows Vulkan version, but I don't know.
     
  4. Legs66

    Legs66
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2023
    Messages:
    1
    I'm having the same issue with my Fanatec CSL Pedals (USB Adapter), and my Logitech DFGT. Have you had any progress with this issue?
     
  5. Car_Killer

    Car_Killer
    Expand Collapse
    QA / Mod Support
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,652
    You either have to set it as executable or run it through the terminal by inputting ./BeamNG.drive.x64 if you opened it in BinLinux folder.

    Proton changes do not apply at all to the native Linux version, it will only affect the game if you run Windows version through steam.
     
  6. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    250
    sadly, not :(
    If I have, I'll post another reply to this thread
     
  7. Aweal

    Aweal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2023
    Messages:
    3
    thx for linux support!

    have a Segmentation fault on start map:
    [ +0.000035] Code: 00 5b c3 c3 90 66 90 f3 0f 1e fa 48 83 ec 18 64 48 8b 04 25 28 00 00 00 48 89 44 24 08 31 c0 48 8b 05 41 a8 c5 01 48 89 3c 24 <48> 8b b0 b0 00 00 00 48 3b b0 b8 00 00 00 74 2d 48
    89 3e f0 83 47
    [Feb19 01:13] BeamNG.drive.x6[10486]: segfault at 145 ip 00007efe0fe24f7e sp 00007ffe74c6b1b0 error 4 in libnvidia-glcore.so.525.89.02[7efe0e87f000+2505000] likely on CPU 12 (core 24, socket 0)
    [ +0.000032] Code: 2c 8f 48 8d 3c b2 41 89 ef 48 89 7c 24 48 4d 89 ce 0f 1f 00 48 8b 4c 24 08 41 8d 57 ff 48 8d 14 52 48 8d 34 91 8b 16 c1 ea 05 <41> 3b 96 04 01 00 00 0f 83 0d 01 00 00 48 c1 e2 06
    49 03 96 08 01
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. hacker420

    hacker420
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,113
    what distro do you use and what GPU do you have?
     
  9. Aweal

    Aweal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2023
    Messages:
    3
    gentoo model name : 12th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-12700KF
     
  10. hacker420

    hacker420
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,113
    you use the closed source nvidia driver or nouveau?
     
  11. Aweal

    Aweal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2023
    Messages:
    3
    x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-525.89.02

    steam proton looks full well
    dump
    0x0.st / HsXo.dmp

    ps: I had already something similar(bug glibc-2.34 patch 803950 dot bugs.gentoo dot org/attachment.cgi?id=757176) with browsers maybe there is an option to run --no-sandbox
     
    #251 Aweal, Feb 18, 2023
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2023
  12. snoutie

    snoutie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    I think I found a solution:

    It seems you can edit the function getDeviceInfo() at arount line 410 in BeamNG.drive/lua/ge/extensions/core/input/bindings.lua
    From
    Code:
    local function getDeviceInfo(device)
      -- ask T3D information about the provided devname
      local guid = WinInput.getProductGUID(device)
      local productName = WinInput.getProductName(device)
      local pidvid = WinInput.getVendorIDProductID(device)
      --local battery = WinInput.getBatteryLevel(device)
      return guid, productName, pidvid, battery
    end
    To:

    Code:
    local function getDeviceInfo(device)
      -- ask T3D information about the provided devname
      local guid = WinInput.getProductGUID(device)
      local productName = WinInput.getProductName(device)
      local pidvid = WinInput.getProductGUID(device)
      --local battery = WinInput.getBatteryLevel(device)
      return guid, productName, pidvid, battery
    end
    This way the system uses the entire GUID for mapping instead of just the first 8 chars

    I was able to bind Button0 of both shifter and wheel to different actions as well as the same action.

    As seen below, the game does not complain about duplicate bindings anymore.

    upload_2023-2-19_15-56-17.png
     
    #252 snoutie, Feb 19, 2023
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2023
    • Like Like x 1
  13. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    250
    DAMN! Thanks a lot!

    Now the game just has to get a LOT more stable, and I can finally enjoy BeamNG.drive how it's meant to be!

    (since I think the last update, when setting the texture quality to 'high', I get a black/white mess)

    System:
    Garuda Linux, 6.1.12-zen1-1-zen
    mesa 22.3.4-1
    BeamNG.drive 0.27.1
    KDE 5.27.0, Wayland
    i5-12600k
    Gigabyte Z590 Gaming DDR4
    MSI RX 6700 XT

    when verifying the gamefiles with the windows version through wine, the bindings.lua is the only file that didn't verify correctly (as expected)
     
    #253 JoLi, Feb 19, 2023
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2023
  14. pranays123

    pranays123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    I am having the same issue on Arch Linux with a RTX 2060 Super and Nvidia driver version 530.30.02 If I use 520.56.06 or below then the game works well. Anything above that doesn't work. I have the issue whether I use proton or I use the native build. Usually when I start the game and the window opens, I get a segfault after " 4.19594|D|createDevice| Using default audio device: SteelSeries Arctis 7 Game", sometimes I get through and a few seconds after I load a map I get the segfault:
    Code:
    17427 segmentation fault (core dumped)  ./BeamNG.drive.x64
    
    dmesg:
    Code:
    [  127.996448] BeamNG.drive.x6[3695]: segfault at 2dc0 ip 00007f6335b52399 sp 00007ffc006626b0 error 4 in libnvidia-glcore.so.530.30.02[7f6334501000+25e4000] likely on CPU 14 (core 6, socket 0)
    [  127.996458] Code: 48 89 7c 24 58 44 89 ff 4d 89 e7 41 89 fc e9 e4 00 00 00 66 0f 1f 44 00 00 48 c1 e2 06 49 03 97 10 01 00 00 0f 84 ed 00 00 00 <8b> 3a 8d 77 fa 83 e6 fd 74 0c 81 ff 18 25 a0 3b 0f 85 d7 00 00 00
    
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Car_Killer

    Car_Killer
    Expand Collapse
    QA / Mod Support
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,652
    Thanks for the report. Looks like the same issue as on Windows with 530.x drivers.
     
  16. snoutie

    snoutie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    I've noticed something weird when using my steering wheel. Now I don't know whether I just don't understand how the feature works or bug:
    When setting the update rate limit to any setting above 15 I get an output in dmesg like this
    Code:
    tmff2: output queue full
    , but only when the frame rate is not limited.

    The output is caused by my wheels driver because it was overwhelmed with inputs. Leaving the setting at automatic causes the same output.

    When limiting the frame rate to 80, I can set the update rate limit as high as 2000 without any output in dmesg.
    Anything above 80 will result in the same output.

    What exactly does the update rate limit do? the wheel update rate seems to be tied to the framerate rather than the update rate limit setting
     
    #256 snoutie, Mar 26, 2023
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2023
  17. Car_Killer

    Car_Killer
    Expand Collapse
    QA / Mod Support
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,652
    Updated the first post with issues.
    Unfortunately, the Linux version appears to have a broken render (at least on my side), we are aware of the problem, and I hope we can fix it in the upcoming hotfixes.
     
  18. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    250
    seems to work for me

    (Ultra preset)
    upload_2023-4-4_14-59-31.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Car_Killer

    Car_Killer
    Expand Collapse
    QA / Mod Support
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,652
    Thanks for letting me know, I have the issue with render on RTX A4000 with latest drivers :confused:
     
  20. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    250
    I'll try later on my Laptop (RTX 3080, nvidia-open driver)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice