Looking to make a simple trajectory mod that shows where the vehicle will be a second in the future

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Ven Kiir, Feb 8, 2021.

1. Ven Kiir

Ven Kiir
    Expand Collapse

I have no experience making beamng apps or writing lua scripts so I was hoping for some help. Basically what I want is a ui app that has a button to toggle a sphere or cylinder (or ideally an arc) that will show the approximate position of the vehicle one second in the future (doesn't have to specifically be one second, it could be variable). The reason I want a mod like this is because sometimes I like playing in slowmo so that I have superhuman reaction times, but in slow motion it's hard to predict if I'm braking enough for a corner or turning in too early or too late, so I want something to visually aid me.
    As I've said, I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to beamng modding or lua scripting, so any help at all would be greatly appreciated

2. angelo234

angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Programmer
    BeamNG Team

Alright so this time I'll try to be helpful lol. So you can find the trajectory/predicted position of the vehicle just by integrating the acceleration and velocity to find the relative position of an object after a given delta time and adding that to the current position. Although as delta time gets bigger, the error of the predicted trajectory gets larger. And to actually do the integration the following code would do just that:

Code:
    local acc = vec3(obj:getSensorX(), obj:getSensorY(), obj:getSensorZ())
    local vel = vec3(obj:getVelocity())
    local pos = vec3(obj:getPosition())

--Delta time (the time in the future to find the predicted position)
    local dt = 1

--New Predicted Velocity after time dt
    local new_vel = acc * dt + vel

--New Predicted Position after time dt
    local new_pos = new_vel * dt + pos