Manual gear shifter animation

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by NOCARGO, May 22, 2019.

1. NOCARGO

NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

Hi,
    I hope this thread is not considered to be bumped since the last one on the subject is from over
    a year ago and the first one from over five years or so. (and still not 'solved')

So, what's the deal ? Is it really that difficult to create manual gear shift animations ?
    I've been giving it some thought lately (I mean creating them) and indeed it's no simple matter to me.
    But I'm not too experienced in 'game creation' at all so that brings me to the above again. :)
    I mean, there has to be a reason why we don't find this feature in common use, common vehicle's,
    common mods... I read about a long ago mod, the Del Sol, which seemed to have it and I know
    the Satsuma has it. In fact I've already sort of figured out how the latter one is working but it's a
    different case on it's own because it's a column shifter. (the word 'shifter' is not accepted by the
    spell checker, is that no English?) The Sat's shifter has hydro's running up the body's pillar and
    floor and firewall or something. It also moves in a sort of way that suits a column shift stick but
    it wouldn't suit a floor (or near floor) gear stick. What I guess is that the difficulty lies in the node/beam
    structure that is requested to make it function ? If it must rely on other existing nodes then perhaps
    it will provide unwanted motion from the other beams' 'springyness' ? And to give it more stable
    structure the network of beams would grow way too far through the rest of them beams ?
    I don't know. It's apparently also quit difficult to make it work as a prop (I would prefer this to
    save unnecessary n/b structure) such as the steering wheel and pedals. The prop should in
    this case be able to work as one mesh across different axis which I believe currently isn't possible.