My new Haswell planned build, I need opinions

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic' started by Kitteh5, Jun 14, 2013.

  1. Kitteh5

    Kitteh5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    275
  2. GeoTelnet111

    GeoTelnet111
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    193
    4.1k? Seems like a ridiculous amount of money to spend on a computer, not even Windows 7. ;P Mine was $600 and runs everything I throw at it on High.
     
  3. LJFHutch

    LJFHutch
    Expand Collapse
    Environment Artist
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    664
    My only thoughts are that it is totally overkill :D
     
  4. Gabe Ster

    Gabe Ster
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Yeah but do you actually need any of that?
     
  5. Rocking_Star

    Rocking_Star
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Not bad.
    I'm guessing you're like me, blowing your money at one point & getting an ultimate PC that can run games for 6-10 years ;)

    If you want to save some money & still get the exact same bang, I would suggest trying a AMD/Ati build.
    I've been a fan of Intel/nVidia, but their prices always bugged me, anyway, recently my friend (who also was a fan) highly suggested a AMD/Ati build, after he got one as a try, so my next PC is going to be AMD/Ati.
    That decision brought my price down from $3,000 to just over $1,500. Nearly half of it saved! (The prices don't include my 2x 1TB & 512 SSD, prices include just Motherboard, CPU, GPU, & RAM).
     
  6. Kitteh5

    Kitteh5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    I am actually an AMD fan, but when Haswell was released=Mind@Blown. But I did Crossfire 2 7990s in this build, you know.
     
  7. Davidbc

    Davidbc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Intel CPUs are a lot better for gaming. I hope you're not gonna use it just for gaming with 32GB of RAM and those hdd's.
     
  8. Kitteh5

    Kitteh5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    No, I am also going to be rendering vids for YT and do lots of Photoshopping for school.
    So, this @Blown computer will be used for about everything.
     
    #8 Kitteh5, Jun 14, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2013
  9. Alastair

    Alastair
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Why do you need 5.5TB of storage... really...

    - - - Updated - - -

    Why do you need 5.5TB of storage... really...
     
  10. Kitteh5

    Kitteh5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Double post? Maybe? I just am going to use this computer for YEARS, so I can use 5.5TB.
     
  11. Kamil_

    Kamil_
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    My games are about 500GB total, and I don't have that much.
    Then I got a lot of other things.
    So 5.5TB might be good for someone who has to store videos....

    Why don't you get a 2560x1440 screen? Since you do photoshopping too, and for games.
     
  12. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,679
    Well if he is wanting to keep raw footage of video captures they can be 3GB per every 2 mins easily. So i guess some people may need that storage. My advice would to be buy what you need now and expand later, that way your drives will get good levels of use before they fail. Therefore better value for the use you get.

    Im not sure why you need to buy 16 fans though, i know my pc isnt up to the standard of that configuration but i use 2 case fans for a 560ti and i5 2500k, with an overclock of 4.3Ghz (no need to put it higher, i honestly cant tell the difference between stock and now tbh). So that may not be needed because it will sound like an aircraft taking off.
     
    #12 aljowen, Jun 14, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2013
  13. Davidbc

    Davidbc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    That's because the 2500k at stock settings can handle the 560ti easily. I had a hd5850 which is close to the 560ti and I didn't feel any improvement with the OC either, but now that I have a HD7950 I do feel that my fps get higher and higher the more I oc.
     
  14. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,679
    I wouldn't call it close to a 560ti but your point is most likely correct.

    HD5850: 3.2FPS
    GTX560TI: 10.1FPS (Using an overclocked model because they don't have GIGABYTES version)

    Source: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/charts/2012-vga-gpgpu/02-Unigine-Heaven-DirectX-11-C-Extreme,2935.html
     
  15. Davidbc

    Davidbc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    They're a bit close, except on Dx11 applications. The HD6850 is actually a bit slower than the HD5850 but it is better optimized for Dx11 so it performs better. well it doesn't matter anyway :D
     
  16. mtslittow

    mtslittow
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Consider getting a razer naga mouse, the newest one (2012). It's very useful for every purpose and it has a lot of buttons on the side.
     
  17. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,679
    No, get whichever mouse you find comfy. Before you buy a mouse go out to a shop and and give it a feel, see if you like the shape. Its all personal preference. Personally i love my logitech g500 but you may not therefore you are best of finding a short list of mice that get good reviews and then trying all of them and choosing what suits you.


    Its almost like me saying you should buy adult size 1 shoes because they fit me the best (they don't), doesn't mean you will agree as your feet are different.
     
  18. mtslittow

    mtslittow
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    The thing is, naga has adjustable ergonomics, which makes it a good option. Would recommend.
     
  19. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,679
    So do mice such as the RAT5 doesn't mean i find it comfy after any level of adjusting. You can only adjust things so much on any mouse even if it does have adjustable ergonomics. I understand what you mean but as far as mice are concerned it is almost all preference. Sure you can say the tracking on it is good/bad, other than that all you can do is inform as to how it feels. We don't even know if they palm or claw grip.

    The post below me proves my point, i don't like the RAT mice but he does.
     
    #19 aljowen, Jun 14, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2013
  20. Kamil_

    Kamil_
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    I find my R.A.T.7 comfy because it has a pinkie rest and I like having one.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice