Solved Need help for ad carrier for ETK I

Discussion in 'Mod Support' started by MisterKenneth, Dec 2, 2016.

  1. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    I want to try to do something I've never done before, so I want to make the ad carrier available for the ETK I-Series.

    I copied the information from the Grand Marshal, made a new jbeam file, and replaced the words fullsize with etki. I used blender to copy the ad carrier model on the GM, and made a separate dae file for it.

    However, this happens, and to be honest, I'm not surprised.
    Whathappened.png
    What am I doing wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CreasingCurve

    CreasingCurve
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    940
    Pess the tilde key that looks like a wave and take a screenshot and post here. It helps people see what you have done wrong without having to look at files.
     
  3. meywue

    meywue
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    325
    Hey,

    as @CreasingCurve already said, you can have a quick look in the console if there's an error. Search for 'Toggle System Console' in the bindings menu to find the correct binding. Make sure 'Enable advanced functions' is turned on in the options menu


    Also usually if the car does not spawn and you end up in this view, there's most ptobably a parsing error.

    In this case you missed to add an opening curly bracket in line 1.

    I added it and the vehicle is sapwning afterwards.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    The only problem I have now, is that the taxi sign is nowhere to be found in the parts list. I also checked that list people suggested, but it didn't really help me.
    --- Post updated ---
    I got the taxi ad carrier to appear in the additional modifications, and it even has the ads. However, the model of the ad carrier is nowhere to be seen. You can even see the beam.
    err.png
     
  5. meywue

    meywue
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    325
    Please send us the recent state of your mod :)
     
  6. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    I have a feeling that it may have something to do with the dae file, since I'm not good with Blender.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    I really hope I can get these issues resolved.
     
  8. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,656
    I've checked your files.

    1. Do not name the .dae 'ETKI.dae'. That name is already used from the main ETKI.dae file. While it shouldn't cause problems, please use something different.

    2. Your 3D object is still named 'fullsize_adcarrier', aswell the materials.

    You need to change the 3D models name and materials to match the ones in your Jbeam and Materials.cs file.
     
  9. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    Thank you, this got the model to show up in game. However, I've come across even more problems. First off, the model was there, but it was completely white. The material.cs file looks to be in the green though. I modified the jbeam file and changed the etki_adcarrier under the nonflexmaterials back to fullsize_adcarrier, in hopes of it detecting the original textures. This caused it to disappear again, and when I undid the edit, it still didn't come back. However, I did this while BeamNG was still opened. I've done cleared the etki cache folder.

    I've also made a copy of the ETK I-Series' dae file, and I copied out the entire fullsize folder for access to the adcarrier. However, Blender tells me that there is missing textures, though all of the Grand Marshal's textures are there in the folder with the model. Is Blender really this stupid?

    I've saved a blender file containing both the ETK I-Series' model, and the adcarrier on the roof.

    ETKITaxiblenderfile.png How.png

    Do I need to upload the blend file?
     
  10. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,656
    It's white because the material in the .dae file does not have the same name of the material you made in the materials.cs.
    That's why I told you to also make the name of the material match to the one in your file :)
     
  11. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    I found some material names and changed them.
    materialnames.png
    After opening up BeamNG, the ad carrier appears with no material.
    nomaterial.png
    I went and tweaked the material.cs file and switched the map-to data, and then copied the information from the Steam files and pasted it over the old stuff. This didn't help either.
     
  12. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,656
    Send files.

    Are you 100% sure the material name matches?
    Is the materials.cs correct? (It is pointing to the correct texture location?)
     
  13. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    The material.cs file seems to be right. The name of the singleton material matches the name in the dae file, and the data was copied over from my Steam files. I don't know why it didn't work.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,656
    Your materials.cs is telling the game to load the .dds files from your mod's folder.
    But you have no .dds file in there..

     
  15. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    Is it possible for me to direct it to the textures in the Steam files? Such as vehicles/common/etc?
     
  16. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,656
    It's in vehicles/common

    Instead of copying the .dds in your mod, make your materials.cs file point where the file is.

    Actually, you didn't even had to make your own materials.cs.
    That material is available for any vehicle.
    Just make sure that the materials in the 3D model you are shipping in the mod are named:
    - adcarrier
    - adcarrier_ad

    And it should work the same, without you needing to ship also those files.
     
  17. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    Well actually, I believe that material.cs file somehow generated itself.
    --- Post updated ---
    Also, when opened in Blender, I see fullsize_adcarrier-mesh-map-0 and fullsize_adcarrier-mesh-map-1. Do you know what this is about? Do I need to change this?
     
  18. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,656
    Those are the UVMap name.
    Those can be named anything, it won't have any effect.
     
  19. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    The dae file is working now. Thanks to all for your help.
     
  20. ivan lochcov

    ivan lochcov
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    393
    do me for ETK K to Spoler
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice