1. Game not starting lately?
    Fixed in 0.19.4.2
    More information available here

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

WIP Beta released Nevada Interstate (prequel to So-Cal Interstate) 9.0 c

The loop of highway in the desert that doesn't know 'it's not a race track'.

  1. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,607
    bob.blunderton submitted a new resource:

    Nevada Interstate (prequel to So-Cal Interstate) - It's not quite that fast, it's not quite that furious, but it's a fun highway! Feature-complete.

    Read more about this resource...
     
  2. ravetroll

    ravetroll
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    This map is a great piece of work. I have noticed that there are some missing textures showing in orange on some of the large concrete structures. For example the large dip underpass has this problem. Am I supposed to download extra textures seperately?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Awesomeness149

    Awesomeness149
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    some of the textures do not work please help
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,607
    Okay, I will check this out. Most likely some textures got knocked out in the 0.6.1 update, as they were not .dds textures. PNG and JPG and other non-dds format texture stuffs got deprecated (does no longer work). I will issue an update for this, this week. Thanks for submitting these bugs guys, it's highly appreciated.
    I am committed to providing support for my maps for at-least one year after they're published and leave beta, if not longer (popular demand will most likely keep them going for a while longer, too). Some folks publish their maps and forget about them but not I. :)

    --Cheers!

    P.S. If anyone's interested and knowledgeable enough to modify a zip file's contents, for an update, let me know by private messaging me on this website using the start-a-conversation feature. I will send you a small (<5mb) patch that you can apply (simple file-copying) to the zip you already have of Nevada Interstate, within the next day or two, as it may be a few days to a week until the official download gets updated.
     
  5. Awesomeness149

    Awesomeness149
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    thx cant wait to play it again, also would you be able to extend the runway and maybe add an easter egg or two.​
     
  6. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,607
    Yes I can add a better runway, it won't be super-fancy but I can make sure it's nice and smooth for commercial aircraft.
    What do you need, like 1~1.3 miles or so? If so, I am sure I can do that. You can also use flat, straight sections of freeway, too. Atleast, you can if there's no lamp-posts nearby.
     
  7. Awesomeness149

    Awesomeness149
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    i think 1 mile would be good i have tried using the highways but it just feels more immersive taking off from a runway.
     
  8. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,607
    We have clearance Clarence. Rodger, Dodger! What's our vector Victor?
    I will make sure to put in a runway, too, when I get to fixing this map. Look for it in the next update.
     
  9. Awesomeness149

    Awesomeness149
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    cool cant wait
     
  10. Awesomeness149

    Awesomeness149
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    how's the update going?
     
  11. Username

    Username
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    210
    Lil bug report:


    But I'm sure this is already fixed and I just didn't update lol
     
  12. Awesomeness149

    Awesomeness149
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    sry bout the bump but any progress so far?
     
  13. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,607
    Rut-Roh, guess it's the dog-house for me!
    I did find several 'missing' roads and fixed them, I will try to get this uploaded in the near future as a whole-map-update. Waiting on purchasing a network cable that should be in around the first week of January. I will do a whole-map update in January when I have that and the ability to do solid large-file uploads (I get frequent disconnects on my wireless).
    In the mean time, if you see something out of whack, it's pretty easy to right them inside the decal road editor by moving the nearby nodes around just ever-so-slightly. There's still a few odd 'jagged' spots in a few areas, but this fixes the 'missing' ones. So if you see 3 or 4 small (20~50 foot long) sections of distorted, jagged roadway, don't be shocked.
    I did update some of them a little while back (AND FORGOT ABOUT IT) so thanks for the reminder.
    See if the attached file helps (make sure the game isn't running when you do this or the file will be LOCKED).

    (UNZIP *THIS* FILE FIRST, extracted file goes inside the levels\hiway2\ folder inside the large Nevada Interstate map zip, overwrite when prompted). If you're not sure find the NEVADA INTERSTATE zip file and open it up, click levels, then click hiway 2, the hiway2.mis i sent you in the attached zip goes in here, overwriting the older file - don't zip drop this small zip in there or it won't update. You don't need to extract the entire Nevada Interstate map to do this (that's the large several-hundred MB zip file).
    This is the file that contains the definitions of all the decal roads (hiway2.mis) - hiway2 is just the code/project name for the map.

    Sorry for the delayed response. I tried to make these directions as idiot-proof as possible but please don't think I am being rude or condescending in any way/shape/form. Sorry about that it took so long, my short term memory - or lack there-of is most likely to blame. This map still needs some more going-over.
    --- Post updated ---
    I have not fixed the texture issue yet, where you've listed this @Username . The reasoning is I can't replicate this - please be sure you have the newest version of this map on the mods page. However, it's a slight chance it only happens when it's zipped up, I'll have to check this out.
    EDIT: I don't know what's causing it without seeing your console log on map-load. Try using the newest version, available on the mods page. You'll know if you have it as the scene on the map-browser shows the highway going through a giant rock-arch/cave like formation (one side of the highway has concrete surfacing, too). If you don't have the newest version, you'll hit INVISIBLE WALLS near one or two of the bridges on the north side of the map making the highway loop impassible.
     

    Attached Files:

    #13 bob.blunderton, Dec 11, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2016
  14. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,607
    Surely this doesn't look like a whole lot. What have I been doing? Basically, re-doing the whole highway with more knowledge at hand than I had 1 year ago when I initially started building it (this was my 1st map).
    Re-orienting the corners, making sure they're more consistent (the same radius through the whole turn).
    BANKING the whole highway. The entire thing, less the sections that were done when the meshes were removed in 0.6.x days and the concrete sections of highway added. Some more WALLS are now banked/sloped also (see screens, the sunken highway portion has sloped walls now).
    Added some more guide rails where it's needed, to keep the player falling down some embankments steeper than 1:3 grade as per USA DOT*.
    Got rid of some of the super-high road bridges and made them more along the lines of a 16' (foot) regulated overpass (roughly 6 meters).
    Fixed a bug that caused the AI not to be able to travel counter-clockwise along the (outside) loop of highway, the bridge where the bug was is pictured (should be the 2nd last picture).
    Fixed a *LOT* of the problems that existed since 0.7.x update that caused decal roads to not display correctly (jumbled, jagged, MISSING etc) - usually these were near intersections and such.
    Enabled complete support on the highway for multilane with the amount of lanes available (two lanes for AI on the 2-lane portions, 3 lanes on 3lane portions, 1-lane for on/off ramps unless otherwise built). Optimized some other AI paths (invisible roads for AI use only, player can't see).
    By the time this gets released, there should be no issue using the whole map. I don't know if I have to multilane some of the side-roads or not.
    Tried to keep grade realistic. It does matter. There's still a few rather 'steep' hills. I am not sure how much I can do about this, but you can always go another way! It really only matters if you have a truck (lorry) and hauling a 50 foot trailer fully laden to the 80,000lbs GVWR.

    TO DO:
    (highways) 5+ miles of roadway is graded, I estimate there's about that much to do yet, liberal estimate, it may actually be less.
    Add traffic lights. This may add a few MB to the download but it's so worth it. Not sure if road signs will make it in next update, doubt it.

    *USA DOT interstate highway standard as of Q3 2016 (when I last checked), embankments and easement grade adjacent to highway, if steeper than 1:3 / or 3.33/10 grade requires guide rails to be placed, to prevent injury to errant motorists.
    Also, generally, I made grades a little less steep, so that truckers who have played/liked ATS, can still keep on truckin' . USA DOT standard for new highway is 6%, but up to 8% may be grandfathered in, if I remember correctly. I would eventually implement truck missions here.

    Trying to get this finished up so I can start on revamping Generic City, that map's getting a complete rebuild and most things re-textured.
    I will then split my time between Generic City and Tennessee USA map updates so I don't get bored of updating one or the other.

    On pictures, concrete guide-rail may not be concrete when the downloadable update materializes, I may add the steel guiderail texture from So-Cal and Tennesse USA maps of mine into this one. So basically consider it a place-holder. Sorry it doesn't look like more.
    3rd last pic is pre-existing highway (birds-eye shot) that's ALL banked now.
    LAST picture is the interchange, completely re-done (all ramps and highway approaches), lowered this by about HALF it's height, so it's not so drastic! it is not level on any of the approaches now. Highway descends to the bridge from all angles. Surface road is still the same level here, as it was previously. The mounds in the median of the highway on the far side of the bridge show the 'old' height mostly, less a meter or so here.
    The jump (tipped sign) was also moved, that is in the median of the highway.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 20170201145138_1.jpg
    • 20170201145201_1.jpg
    • 20170201145352_1.jpg
    • 20170201145454_1.jpg
    • 20170201145546_1.jpg
    • 20170201145609_1.jpg
    • 20170201145249_1.jpg
  15. Awesomeness149

    Awesomeness149
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    looks good cant wait
     
  16. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,050
    In Europe, some places they have over 70 metric ton trucks on narrow country roads, grades go pretty much same as in US though, I'm going to try new version of this map with road train config of T-series, there is going to be some hilarious fails with that, I'm sure!

    I really admire your dedication to get all those details right, interstate maps gets lot of use on this computer :)

    Looking forward of this update of masterpiece
     
  17. Awesomeness149

    Awesomeness149
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    just asking did u manage to squeeze in a tarmaced airport?
     
  18. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,607
    I will make sure there is one. I remember you bringing this up half a YEAR ago :) I will make sure it's in just for you, while still leaving the dirt one intact. Will 1 mile suffice or should it be ~1.5 miles of runway?
    Yes, there will still be some wacked-out steep grades here or there in small portions, but hey all in the name of fun, right? I will test it with a truck before I send it out, back to the drawing board if it can't keep reasonable speed.


    It's not too late to "request something reasonable" (TM), so entirely, do so if you wish for something!

    TO DO:
    Traffic lights, more corner banking (a few spots remain, and a long straight stretch on the side of the map opposite the dam), tarmac'ed airport.

    Not to do, because it's done already!:
    On other notes, I got another mile to mile-and-a-half done and a brand-new texture - two-lane 'aged' concrete (4k x 2k) with shoulder. Full reflection and an 'almost' perfect normal (I will work on it later a bit more). I also got the metal and concrete guard rail texture in the map.

    So I will throw a few pictures up (this is the first time the uploader didn't bork files due to my rubbish interwebs connect!).
     

    Attached Files:

    • 20170204123521_1.jpg
    • 20170204123600_1.jpg
    • 20170204123739_1.jpg
    • 20170204123757_1.jpg
    • 20170204123845_1.jpg
    • 20170204130728_1.jpg
    #18 bob.blunderton, Feb 4, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Awesomeness149

    Awesomeness149
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    i think 1 mile is long enough and i think it would suit the map being a rural but semi urban surrounding btw if it's too much to ask could u add in an entrance with a gate along side with some hangers and a control tower i completely understand if u cant but i just wanted to suggest,it thanks again hope it comes along great keep up the good work.
     
  20. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,607
    I can't add many custom models but surely I can put some hangars in (they exist). If there's any sort of control tower in already I can re-use that (there's an earthen airport here, but it's small). I can also do a fence texture as needed for a chain link fence.
    The runway won't be perfectly 'level' as in, not just a flat chunk of earth from end to end, so it may be better to take off in one direction and land in the other, etc, but it will be plenty useable. I won't be putting custom runway textures, just something enough to use.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice