1. Stuck or having problems creating your mod?

Outdated Nitrous Oxide for ALL Cars and Trucks

Discussion in 'Mods and Skins' started by Matchbox201, Apr 12, 2017.

  1. Matchbox201

    Matchbox201
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    The repository approval is taking longer than expected. I see they just posted another game hotfix, so it was probably all hands on deck with that this week.

    I will stop teasing. Download added to first post until it makes it to repository.

    Please remember to drive safe, and do not over red-line the engine.
     

    Attached Files:

    • screenshot_00053.png
    • screenshot_00085.png
    • screenshot_00088.png
    • screenshot_00070.png
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Monstertruckchick

    Monstertruckchick
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Woot! Nitrous everything ftw! :oops:
     
  3. ApolloSauce

    ApolloSauce
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Ha! Drive safe with nitrous lol, it's Beam
     
  4. Matchbox201

    Matchbox201
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Hah :cool: lol. True.

    To be honest, over red-lining is kind of fun sometimes too. Manual transmission in arcade mode are very good at this. Just hold throttle and Nitrous without letting up. Boom!
     
  5. Im White.

    Im White.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Loving the clutch slip... <3
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. ApolloSauce

    ApolloSauce
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    It doesn't seem like clutch slip, I think the way this works is that it in theory sets your throttle to a higher level in percentage to proportion of the throttle you have applied, I think that is what is causing the "clutch slip". Because even with a beefed up transmission, it still gives "clutch slip". I'm not trying to throw shade on the mod but I think that this needs to be fixed, but this is a good start to a great idea. I'm no modder, but I think the best way to do this would be to increase power by a certain amount to what the motor is outputting. This is just a suggestion, but in time this mod will get better.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Matchbox201

    Matchbox201
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    That's actually what it's doing. It simply increases the engine output torque by a relative amount. Any transmission or clutch slip is caused by the regular functioning of the transmission under increased torque.
     
  8. Im White.

    Im White.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    I made the friction and inertia on the engine high af still clutch slips... :D
     
  9. ApolloSauce

    ApolloSauce
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    But if it's just increasing power than why does it rev over? Plus even on the smallest nozzle size it still gives the slip
     
  10. Matchbox201

    Matchbox201
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Are you using manual transmission in arcade mode? If so, DON'T
     
  11. ApolloSauce

    ApolloSauce
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    No, I use manual in Realistic
     
  12. Matchbox201

    Matchbox201
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    OK - I think I know what you are talking about and I DO want to try and fix that. That's #1 on my list actually, so yea I agree. When I do 1/4 miles passes, I could be in any gear and they are all revved up. Making it hard to tell when optimal time to shift is. You are just talking about that correct? Or do you mean the engine is going over red-line and you are toasting your engines? If that is the case, you are just using Nitrous wrong. Do not use it when the "theoretical" clutch is depressed.
     
  13. ApolloSauce

    ApolloSauce
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Yeah that sounds it
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Matchbox201

    Matchbox201
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    There are no settings in clutch jbeam that make any improvement.
    I believe the functions that control that are deeply embedded into power-train system - so it will take some digging and custom LUA to get it adjusted, but I am working on it.

    Anyways, as stated on the information page. Best results are using automatic transmission for now.
     
    #54 Matchbox201, Apr 28, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2017
  15. ApolloSauce

    ApolloSauce
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    What all did you do to make the nitrous mod do what it does? Is it possible that when activated it decreases engine inertia or messes with the fuel cut off, other than those I'm not sure what else the problem could be. Maybe try checking the gear inertia if that's even a thing?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Matchbox201

    Matchbox201
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    I tried a few things to get it working the way it is now.

    The first time I got it to work, I made an increase which was based on the engine's idle output to powertrain.getDevice("mainEngine").outputAV1
    Original (really bad, code)
    Code:
        if boosted == 1 and powertrain.getDevice("mainEngine").outputTorque1 > 0 then
            while powertrain.getDevice("mainEngine").outputAV1 < 8 * baseAV do
                powertrain.getDevice("mainEngine").outputAV1 = powertrain.getDevice("mainEngine").outputAV1 + baseAV
            end
    
        end
    This kind of worked, but it was non-linear increase - and gave the sense of all or nothing as far as power. Over revving was much, much worse.(see original nitrous testing videos)
    Actually looking at it now, I remember I used "and powertrain.getDevice("mainEngine").outputTorque1 > 0" because that value goes to 0 between shifts... I might be able to re-utilize that.

    The updated version was based on a tip from Diamondback, to increase "outputTorqueState" to value greater than 1 for linear scaling - which didn't quite work for me. But between my old code and that tip, I was able to find "outputAVState" which did have the effect of linear scaling when increasing the value. But as he stated "the whole powertrain self calibrates, so any spring based component will have a too low spring value and might slip (such as clutches)."

    I'll be working to over-ride these value "on the fly" as suggested, but patience will need to be exercised while I figure it out.

    Here is current LUA that makes it do what it does (linear scaled increase to engine power)
    Code:
        if electrics.values.nitro == 1 and NOS.boostcount > 0 and not NOS.boosted then
            NOS.boosted = true
            powertrain.getDevice("mainEngine").outputAVState = NOS.increase
        elseif electrics.values.nitro == 0 and NOS.boosted then
            NOS.boosted = false
            powertrain.getDevice("mainEngine").outputAVState = 1
        end
     
    #56 Matchbox201, Apr 28, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2017
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. ApolloSauce

    ApolloSauce
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Like @Diamondback said about the spring value, is there a way to technically make the clutch be "pressing" on the plate harder to make it grip instead of losing slip? If I was at my PC and had the stuff to look at the LUA installed I would be able to try to figure things out and know what all there is to mess with, I might be of help but otherwise I ain't got many things I know about in the LUA.
     
  18. youdidwhat!!

    youdidwhat!!
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    707
    any updates?
     
  19. RetroStevie

    RetroStevie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    307
    Really cool! I enjoy going really fast in normally slow cars :)
     
  20. Mr. Twiglesworth

    Mr. Twiglesworth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    545
    If clutch torque is still used in the code, it would be in the engine and transmission file
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice