WIP Beta released NodeBeam Editor v 0.37

Discussion in 'Utilities and programming' started by Masa, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. Masa

    Masa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.35

    Does it save if you take "Save As..."? :confused:

    Did you hit "refresh" after finishing editing and before saving? That part isn't yet automated before saving, but I will fix that for next.

    The Save button seems to need fixing, it has a few problems.

    Edit:
    Updated the file in github again, save button should be fixed.
     
    #61 Masa, May 8, 2015
    Last edited: May 8, 2015
  2. Goosah

    Goosah
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    790
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.35

    The ability to do OBJ to jbeam, move/scale/rotate, add beam, and add triangle were all extremely useful in making an experimental tire model the other day, so I just wanna say thanks for your hard work on this :)

    I can see how the multiple jbeam loading would interfere with the text editor function. Not sure how you would rectify this but I definitely do find the multiple jbeam feature useful for debugging existing vehicles. I just use an old version for this when I need to right now ;)
     
  3. Masa

    Masa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.35

    Update 0.36

    036.PNG

    https://github.com/RORMasa/NodeBeamEditor/releases/tag/v0.36

    Ok added support for multiple JBEAM files. :)

    Each JBEAM opened wil open as a new tab at left. If you hit save or save as, it will save the currently active jbeam. All new nodes and beams will go to the currently active jbeam. There is still a performance issue with the jbeam textbox, so it may be a little slow if you open a lot of files simultaneously. The old nodes, beams and scripts tabs are now under views menu.

    Also added experimental feature; a html based inputdialog which allows to get input values from user for lua script. Creator of the lua script can make a html form, and call the input dialog to show the html form during script.
     
  4. luckyman

    luckyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    404
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.35

    Woo, Now when i get to School in the morning i will download the newest and start working on a another car mod (attempt again)
     
  5. Mitki4a

    Mitki4a
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    256
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.36

    Hey Masa. I'm new to this and it would be really useful to make a post in which you explain how to make a simple vehicle. A video tutorial would be amazing!:)
     
  6. direct_UA

    direct_UA
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    769
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.36

    I have one question: why I can't open jbeam of the part, for example Covet's hatch door: :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

    • fsreg.png
  7. GandestPro

    GandestPro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.36

    Good program! This program would be useful to novice!:)
     
  8. CarlosAir

    CarlosAir
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    336
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.36

    Look at the bottom right of the window. "JBEAM read error, stuff at line 32".
    Go and check out what's going on on that line of the file.
     
  9. AdR

    AdR
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    306
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.36

    I was eager to try this one out to see the improvements, but turns out it still doesn't open any complex jbeam file.
    Only works with small parts like doors, hoods, bumpers, etc (sometimes just won't open them either). OBJ Import just crashes or does nothing.



    If the Jbeam works properly in game, then there shouldn't be any problems with it. It's the editor that's not reading it right.
     
  10. direct_UA

    direct_UA
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    769
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.36

    Thanks, fixed it.
     
  11. bigcrazycarboy

    bigcrazycarboy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.36

    Thank you SOOO MUCH!!! I have been wanting to bring so many cars into BeamNG, but I didn't know how, but now I do. thanks!
     
  12. Masa

    Masa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.36

    Update 0.37

    Ok, here is again a slightly updated version of the editor. :)

    Changes:

    • Fixed JBEAM parsing errors and a lot of the jbeam loading / refreshing performance problems. It should be now noticeably faster and more reliable.
    • Syntax highlighter. The syntax highlighting style is about the same as in the wiki so it is easier to read and understand. It doesn't highlight multiline comments correctly yet.
    • //BNE tags for all the content types that the editor supports. For example if you add //BNEtriangles line in your file, all new triangles will be added at this position, the same way like it works with nodes and beams.
    • Node and beam counters in status bar

    https://github.com/RORMasa/NodeBeamEditor/releases/tag/v0.37
     
  13. AdR

    AdR
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    306
    Re: NodeBeam Editor v 0.36

    I was just messing around with the old version, what happened to the node groups? I want to select a group of nodes and put them in a group, is it possible?
    With the previous version, it had the option to do that, except it didn't save the jbeam properly, so no new groups were saved.
     
  14. Masa

    Masa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    The old groups feature is still there, under Views menu -> nodes. Those groups were originally meant to help seeing the jbeam in the editor by being able to group nodes and show/hide them as a group. In game the groups are used for other purposes which is why it didn't export them into the jbeam. Although calling this editor groups tool to groups was a bad idea because it's too easy to confuse them with the actual jbeam groups. I am planning to remove this old group tool as it is obsolete now. Instead it would work better so that each slot is possible to toggle visible / invisible, or each jbeam of the jbeam tab widget.

    Making a tool that groups selected nodes for the jbeam is possible, I will add it in to-do list. :eek:
     
    #74 Masa, Jun 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
  15. AdR

    AdR
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    306
    That's where I was going, and thanks a lot for considering it! I'm making a jbeam from scratch using the exporter from Blender, and it's a pain in the ass to group the nodes and beams using only notepad. This would save a LOT of time in the process.
     
  16. PBSK123

    PBSK123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    It's nice, but it crashes when ever I try to put down a triangle.
     
  17. Unfriended

    Unfriended
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Awesome. Thanks, you good man :)
     
  18. schumacher

    schumacher
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,053
    Can someone help me ? I portet an ObJ car in and the Hatch jbeam which fits really good, now I want to move some existing nodes a little bit to the top but I cant select them or move them over the arrows. What did I did wrong ?
     
  19. iheartmods

    iheartmods
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,478
    It probably doesn't work with the current version.
     
  20. crashmaster

    crashmaster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,646
    0-37 works perfectly with 0.5.2.1
    --- Post updated ---
    Screenshot (116).png
    On the top, there are add, move, scale etc. Select the Rect. Select one and select your nodes, press shift to select some separately. then select the move or other tools to modify them.
    also, make sure you have the latest version.
    And check for syntax errors.
     
    #80 crashmaster, Feb 11, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice