1. Trouble with the game?
    Try the troubleshooter!

Dismiss Notice
  2. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

Dismiss Notice

Official multiplayer and missed opportunities

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Peepsed, Apr 12, 2023.

1. Peepsed

Peepsed
    Expand Collapse

I've been playing the game for many years and I've often seen discussions about multiplayer and responses usually end up being along the lines of: the devs don't want to implement it until it's perfect.

If the devs took that approach to the game itself we wouldn't have BeamNG in the first place because I love this game but it's far from perfect. There's bugs, UI issues, performance issues, etc. It's not even out of alpha but that doesn't stop it from being extremely entertaining. It's continuously evolving and changing and most features added to the game tend to improve with time via feedback from players and just naturally with the games continued development.

So it greatly perplexes me why such a sought after feature is pushed back and back when they could have released something similar to the two mods and advertise it as an in game feature, thereby attracting more customers. The mods certainly aren't perfect but who actually cares if it's fun? There's time to improve it with future iterations and in the meantime it's just another great feature to have.

2. DrowsySam

DrowsySam
    Expand Collapse

They simply don't like half-assed things, and currently the only way to make multiplayer is to half-ass it.

However it's completely in their power to implement VR already, now that's a real missed opportunity.

• Agree Agree x 6
  3. CaptainZoll

CaptainZoll
    Expand Collapse

My understanding as to why they've waited, is that they're not ready to take on the effort of moderation, server hosting, etc. and all the liability that comes with that when you're a company.