Overclocking my Epic, Awesome, Super-Fast i7 870.

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic' started by Bubbleawsome, Apr 23, 2013.

  1. oophus

    oophus
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Your temps are all out of wack.
    127c !?
    22c
    -75c !!??

    With a fan cooled block, it isn't possible to blow your temps below the room temperature, thats a fact. So there is something wrong, and I would strongly recommend you to stop OC'ing.
     
  2. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    *Sigh* Yes it is, a well cooled multi fan dense fin'ed cooler can go below ambient, I've done it; Intel stock coolers can't, I know. Those first 3 are not anything I know of, but I've checked realtemp, coretemp, HWinfo, and speed fan, they all say that. How could I fix it?
    Also, If I can find a way to change my voltage/oc I was planning to go to 1.2 and oc from there, which would get me even cooler than now @ 1.26.
    I'm just wondering if there is a program that can change it, even if it only does voltage so I can get to 1.0 or just oc'ing so I can go from here.
     
  3. 777-300ER

    777-300ER
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    You can't overvolt as your i7 870 isn't unlocked, and neither is your Mo-Bo.
     
  4. oophus

    oophus
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    No, it is not.
    On air, it's impossible. The Laws of Thermodynamics prevent it..

    The fan blows the aimbient temperature to fins which are getting warmed up by the CPU. How on earth would you get temperature below the ambient temperature by doing this?

    Don't trust your sensors if they are showing that, they are 100% wrong.
     
  5. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Moving air can absorb more heat than stagnant air. That said, they may be wrong, how would I recalibrate that?
    Also, I suspect my vcore is 1.3, been creeping up from 1.24 for a few days now. What the crap? I really need a program to adjust this. Help?
     

    Attached Files:

    • NOOO!VOLTAGEZZ.gif
  6. oophus

    oophus
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Of course, thats the point of a fan. But you can never cool something with a fan to a point to where what ever you are cooling suddenly now are colder than the air that is being blown on it.

    I don't know how to fix your sensor issues. I would fix that before I went to overclock anything really.
     
  7. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    I know, but the multiplier *I think* is unlocked to 42, just not any higher. And the mobo's crap, I wish it had a dual BIOS like new graphics cards so I could find an unlocked BIOS from another board.
     
  8. Kamil_

    Kamil_
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Well, dual bios won't help with that, you'd need a compatible bios which is unlocked.

    And your temps are realllllllllllly retarded, 180C; -70C; 18C
     
  9. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Exactly, so if I brick one while trying to flash an ASUS BIOS, I have a backup. :p Trying to find a x51 i7 875 (unlocked 870) BIOS for my board.
     
  10. metalmuncher

    metalmuncher
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    257
    Uhh, what? Are you trying to unlock the CPU by finding a BIOS for another chipset and socket entirely (Assuming you meant x58 instead of X51)? Good luck with that. :rolleyes:
     
  11. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Derp, yeah. Haven't found one yet.
     
  12. Davidbc

    Davidbc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    1751587.png

    That's the highest OC I've ever made. I could still push it more because I was getting about 60 ?C at full load but I don't need that much ''power'', so I've set it back to 4 Ghz which is more than enough for gaming and some video encoding and barely needs more voltage than the default one.
     
    #32 Davidbc, Apr 25, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2013
  13. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,086

    hehehe, my oven defys the laws of thermodynamics :D no seriously, as soon as i set the tempature, the done heating up beeper beeps imidiettly, and the tempature indicator thing says its at the set tempature XD, lol, will upload vid later if youd like furthur proof
     
  14. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    Re: Overclocking my PC

    Well, decided to oc my HD 7770 (while waiting for the replacement 7950) and found some interesting results. The stock voltage is 1.2 and I can easily oc it to 1200 core and the memory starts to lose performance at 1247. I don't want to have it over 1200 24/7 but in my limited testing got to 1250, didn't go any farther. After this I started to decrase the voltage and so far got it to 1.15, wow! voltage.jpg Still going.

    EDIT: but HWinfo says it's still at 1.2v. Dang it.
     
    #34 Bubbleawsome, Apr 29, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2013
  15. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    UPDATE:
    (imported from here) That worked! Not really, I have no idea what happened. Glitch.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice