1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.26 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Performance issues with AMD GPUs

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by Fluffy Panda, Nov 1, 2021.

  1. Fluffy Panda

    Fluffy Panda
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    1,000
    Hello,

    We’ve been receiving reports regarding performance issues with AMD GPUs and we want to investigate these reports further. Unfortunately, we can’t test all possible hardware combinations and we need your help collecting logs.

    How you can help:

    Please follow these steps to collect and share new information:

    Before you begin, please switch the game to Safe Mode to ensure that your mods are not interfering with the process:
    https://documentation.beamng.com/support/launcher_support_tools/safe_mode/

    1) Disable the VSync option under "Options" → "Display" → "Vertical sync"
    2) Open performance graph under "Options" → "Performance" → "Open performance graph"
    3) Wait until the graph is showing enough data
    4) Take a screenshot
    5) Export the data in CSV and JSON under "Performance Graph" > "File" > "Export"

    Please perform the above instructions in the following situations:

    - Launch the map: Grid, small, pure
    - Then launch the map where you experience the lowest FPS
    - Also launch the game with AI (at least 5-6 additional vehicles)
    - If you experience lag in other situations, please attach a screenshot with performance graph as well

    IMPORTANT:
    Send attached screenshots and performance logs to our email: support@beamng.com


    Also include your Support ID with your message: https://supportid.beamng.com/

    And if you using any overclocking software, please make sure to disable it or specify the details in your post.

    If you posted your screenshots in this thread, please give us a link to your post.

    Thanks again for your help!
     
    #1 Fluffy Panda, Nov 1, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2022
    • Like Like x 18
  2. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    3,021
    Thank you for investigating the problem!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. _Tanco

    _Tanco
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    224
    Is it useful to report performance problem with very old and low end amd graphic cards ? Because I have a "Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Dual X OC - 2 Go", which is a graphic card that was released in 2013 so it may be a bit outdated...
     
  4. luca cg

    luca cg
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    First of all my AMD GPU is an R7 370 Sapphire 4 GB. I overclocked the VRAM by 50 MHz (From 1400MHz to 1450MHz) and the clock speed by 100 MHz (From 980MHz to 1080MHz). Though these results have been achieved with stock clocks. No FPS limiter, Safe Mode and Normal settings with Low Textures by the way. So:
    Grid,Small,Pure: 55-60 FPS
    upload_2021-11-1_16-51-58.png
    Italy and West Coast USA (Most intensive for me):35-40 FPS on West Coast USA
    upload_2021-11-1_16-54-18.png
    And Italy: 35-40 FPS
    upload_2021-11-1_16-59-28.png
    And I also want to add that yesterday on Utah with traffic (5 cars I think it was) I saw a dip from 38 FPS to about 8 for a 2-3 seconds and then it was back to 38-41 FPS.
    AI on Italy (7 cars):30-35 FPS: upload_2021-11-1_17-5-31.png
    And on West coast USA it's usually 32-37 FPS.
    I'd also like to add that the game freezes every 15-20 minutes for 1-2 seconds.
    Anyways hope this is useful. Have a nice day! Love the game anyways!
    --- Post updated ---
    Oh and the Support ID is:115041
     

    Attached Files:

    • upload_2021-11-1_16-59-20.png
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Skynet2029

    Skynet2029
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Hello!
    I saw the call for help on Twitter, so I bought the game and help with this.

    System:
    CPU: Ryzen 7 5800X
    GPU: RX5600 XT
    Mem: 16GB 3200MHz

    Support ID is: 115044

    I hope I did this right!

    Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 20211101121006_1.jpg
    • 20211101121042_1.jpg
    • 20211101121144_1.jpg
    #5 Skynet2029, Nov 1, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2021
    • Like Like x 4
  6. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    302
    My specs:

    I9-10900k OC'd to 5.1GHz all-core, up to 5.3 under a 1-3 core usage.
    32GBs DDR4 Trident Z Royale RAM 4400MHz CL17
    ASUS Rog Strix 5700 XT - OC'd to 2155MHz, memory set to 1902MHz - power limits removed

    ---
    (Running the game in safe mode, followed everything above. Screenshots will be sent to the link above as well. Huge thanks for taking a look at this.)

    Ever since the 0.22 update, I have noticed at least a 20-40fps drop across all maps. Before, I'd run at about 100 to 140+ fps, sometimes even more if I only had a single car spawned in on 0.22...now I rarely break 80 with no other cars spawned in except myself.

    In the following screenshots, you will see that I have MSI afterburner HW overlay opened, and my GPU is almost always under 80% utilization and I'm playing on maxed settings @1440p...so technically, my 5700 XT should be pegged at 100% usage...but it isn't.

    Something is definitely wrong here, and I'm that one person who clean installs the game, deletes all mods; unsubscribes from all mods after every update, and starts from scratch.

    I have taken screenshots from each main map, using the exact same vehicle on each screenshot. Thanks!

    (I have also taken the time to spawn traffic in each screenshot - maxed traffic at 12 cars)

    edit

    I didn't run the support id during testing, I will redo it if necessary. All mods were disabled though, game running in safe mode as specified.

    edit 2

    115046 is the support id. ^^^
     

    Attached Files:

    • WC-NoAI.png
    • EC-NoAI.png
    • GridMapSmallPure-noai.png
    • Italy-NoAI.png
    • Utah-NoAI.png
    • WC-AI.png
    • EC-AI.png
    • GMSP-AI.png
    • Italy-AI.png
    • Utah-AI.png
    #6 Sparks4, Nov 1, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2021
  7. wgirard4

    wgirard4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    My specs :
    Ryzen 3700x
    32GB 3200mhz
    RX 6800XT
    Nothing is OC'd
    Running in 1440p.

    Not on the highest settings in these I believe safe mode puts it on high by default so the performance is even lower on the "Ultra" settings.
    Remember having better performance in the same resolution with my old RTX 2080 Super.
    Support ID : 115059

    Thank you for looking into this problem! Really love this game and can't wait to see the future updates.

    Keep it up!! :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2021-11-0115_32_07-BeamNGdrive-0235212939-RELEASE-x64.png
    • 2021-11-0115_33_20-BeamNGdrive-0235212939-RELEASE-x64.png
    • 2021-11-0115_34_14-BeamNGdrive-0235212939-RELEASE-x64.png
    #7 wgirard4, Nov 1, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2021
  8. WhatNot98

    WhatNot98
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    324
    I don't understand. I have a Ryzen 7 1700 and an RX 580 and I haven't noticed any issues at all...
     
  9. Jaysonp1pro

    Jaysonp1pro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    My Specs
    Ryzen 5 3600 (Stock Speeds)
    16GB DDR4 3200
    Msi Twin Frozr RX-570 4GB
    Game and os are running on a 500gb sata ssd
    --- Post updated ---
    My Specs
    Ryzen 5 3600 (Stock Speeds)
    16GB DDR4 3200
    Msi Twin Frozr RX-570 4GB
    Game and Win11 Running on 500GB Sata SSD

    I've been experiencing stuttering, freezing, random fps drops, and rare crashing for over a year now but have just been dealing with it. Tried everything and still couldn't fix it. I tend to get alot of lag in the menus, that's why one of the screenshots is in a menu. Support ID 115065
     

    Attached Files:

    • 3.png
    • 1.png
    • 2.png
    • 3.png
    • 4.png
    • 5.png
    • 6.png
    • 7.png
    • 8.png
    • 9.png
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    3,021
    A problem ive seen in this game is the card clock speeds fluctuating like crazy (from 2.3ghz to 300mhz) and there's absolutely nothing I can do to stop it (I've been trying all day)
     
  11. Jopa56

    Jopa56
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Hello,
    I want to share my experience with game. Maybe it will help you. I have no problems with stuttering, freezing, lag, but there is FPS drop.

    Support ID: 115129
    My spec:
    -Cpu: Ryzen 5 2600 6 cores, 3.80 GHZ (TurboBoost)
    -Ram: 16GB, 3000mhz
    -Gpu: Radeon RX 480 8GB (Radeon Software Adrenalin 20.9.2)
    -Wheel: Logitech G29 with e-bay USB handbrake
    -Monitor: AOC 27" 144hz 1920x1080 via DisplayPort
    Game Settings are in "Attached files"

    After PBR update (Now is 0.23.5.2) game for me is running smoothly with traffic (5 AI plus my 1 car spawned and car pool enabled) on Italy I get 40-60 FPS which is playable without stuttering and freezing. I don't notice fps drop but I think it can stay at 60 fps or even more without any problems. I must say that while playing my gpu is about 50-60% utilization. On Safe mode is the same thing.
    It was stuttering, freezing, unexpected FPS drop like that before PBR but now is way more smoother. After the update I manage to set Lighting on high (before was on normalI). Also with like 50 mods.
     

    Attached Files:

    • bmng2.jpg
    • bmng3.jpg
    • bmng4.jpg
    • bmng5.jpg
  12. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    3,021
    I notice that GPU core clocks drop like crazy when playing this game. Ill go from 2.2ghz to 50mhz randomly and it corresponds with the lag spikes. This does not happen in any other game and there's nothing I can do to limit the core clock to a minimum. Temps and power are fine.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. endertiger

    endertiger
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Before the "walking update" I used to get 110 fps at max graphics with one car in Italy, now I barely get 60

    specs:
    Ryzen 5 3500x
    RX 580 8gb
    16gb 3600mhz

    here are the results
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screenshot375.png
    • Screenshot374.png
    • Screenshot373.png
    • Agree Agree x 2
  14. Fluffy_OG

    Fluffy_OG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    I know its says AMD GPU's but I get drops and spikes pretty often. Before the PBR update I was getting a smooth 150 fps, and now I get 40 to 80 fps. my systems is a Ryzen 7 3700x, 3070,16gb of RAM, and a 1440p display. Running on max graphics. I had 7 AI spawned BeamNGdrive-0235212939-RELEASE-x6411_5_20213_15_23AM1.png BeamNGdrive-0235212939-RELEASE-x6411_5_20213_15_23AM1.png BeamNGdrive-0235212939-RELEASE-x6411_5_20213_19_05AM.png
     

    Attached Files:

    • BeamNGdrive-0235212939-RELEASE-x6411_5_20213_17_33AM.png
    #14 Fluffy_OG, Nov 5, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2021
  15. PowerstrokeHD

    PowerstrokeHD
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2,336
    heck. I don't even have an AMD processor and I still get horrible performance. lmao
     
  16. SuperDuperViralThing

    SuperDuperViralThing
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    145
    Support ID: 115404
    CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 5600x
    RAM: 8gb Dual Channel 3200mhz
    GPU: AMD MSI Armor RX570 8gb OC Grid Map Pure Italy (no traffic) Italy (5 car Traffic)
    Running at 1080p (Traffic had 5 cars spawned by default) Screenshot2021-11-07154252.png Screenshot2021-11-07154442.png Screenshot2021-11-07155831.png

    Screenshot2021-11-07155435.png Screenshot2021-11-07155422.png
     
  17. fasttuning

    fasttuning
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Support ID: 115795
    CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 5600x
    RAM: 32gb 3600mhz
    GPU: AMD RX6900XT

    30FPS bro! 30!!!!! :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    3,021
    I found a reg edit trick so I can force my card to stop throttling down during gaming, the performance is much better than it was but I still barely hit 60FPS. There’s just less stuttering that’s all.
     
  19. dancio751

    dancio751
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Supporti ID: 116270
    CPU: AMD Rzyen 5 3600
    RAM: 16 GB 3600 MHz CL 17
    GPU: Radeon RX 6600
    Settings: Normal
     

    Attached Files:

    • Gridsmallpure.png
    • ItallywithoutAI.png
    • ItallywithAI.png
  20. Driver2210

    Driver2210
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Specs:
    CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 PRO 4750U
    GPU: AMD Ryzen 5 Pro 4650G with Radeon Graphics
    RAM: 16GB
    Support ID: 116303
    Screenshot2021-11-23174624.png Screenshot2021-11-23174758.png Screenshot2021-11-23175103.png

    Settings were set to low and there were 7 Ai cars spawned in the last photo FYI
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice