Question about AI

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by indyj_, Aug 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. indyj_

indyj_
    Expand Collapse

So I'm creating my first map, and I've run in to some confusion with the roads. I have several intersections (1 T, 1 4 way, and several strait-line connections). This leads to my 2 questions,

1. How do I create realistic looking intersections.
    2. How do I enable AI in my map? More specifically, how do I enable it on mesh roads. And it really cuts corners on decal roads; how can I fix this? (i have 1 mesh road and several decals)

Searched the forums but couldn't find anything that worked.

I'm primarily looking for an answer to question 2. I'd really like to have AI enabled.

Thanks!

#1 indyj_, Aug 21, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Glitchy

Glitchy
    Expand Collapse

Hello, I am also very new to map making, I don't know about the intersections, but as for the AI, I suggest not using mesh roads, because I don't believe AI works on mesh roads. Use decal roads, it's less work, and AI works.

Here is how you get AI setup.

- First go to the info section
    - Set 'lanes' to '1'.
    - Set 'driveability' to '1'.

I hope this works for you. :)

3. bluerider598

bluerider598
    Expand Collapse

Decal roads are the easiest for AI. But if you have to use mesh roads, you should use waypoints, and that requires making a map.json file. Just take a look at how ECA has the waypoints over its bridges as an example.

4. bob.blunderton

bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

You don't need to use mesh roads, and should not use mesh roads as roads, use decal roads instead as they offer better AI support more naturally. Only use mesh roads to CARVE a road surface with the raise/lower to mesh tools on the terrain editor panel.