1. Stuck, Having problems with creating your mod? Let us help you: Mod Support

Request for custom loading screens

Discussion in 'Programming' started by bidwars, Apr 23, 2019.

  1. bidwars

    bidwars
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    132
    I would like to be able to show some custom loading screens for my derby mod. The default loading screens show up by calling the main.js file using guihooks.trigger('ChangeState', {state = 'loading'})

    Could you add a new .state to this file that would support custom loading screens for mods? I would like to feed it a list of images with a path that would load just like the default loading screen.

    Thanks
    bidwars
     
  2. Alex_Farmer557

    Alex_Farmer557
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,156
    you just add pictures to the same file path as the officcial one
    just name them differently.
    e.g., if the official one is "loading_2", name yours "loading 3"
    the fr17 mod may have the necessary file path
     
  3. CrimsonCrocodile

    CrimsonCrocodile
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,128
    Custom loading screens are indeed possible. I created a pack a few months ago with community submissions for some extra loading screens:
    https://www.beamng.com/threads/community-loading-screen-pack.60508/
    Feel free to unpack the mod and see how it is structured (it's incredibly simple, and requires no coding)

    The only issue is custom loading screens are not recommended as the UI is subject to change and may break the game entirely in an update, hence why custom loading screens are not allowed on the repository (my pack is forum only)
     
  4. bidwars

    bidwars
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    132
    These loading screen will only load the custom loading screens. It cannot include the one provided by the game.
     
  5. CrimsonCrocodile

    CrimsonCrocodile
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,128
    Ah ok, I see now... I’m not sure if its possible to create a new path.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice