Shearing and snapping of parts.

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by tangowhisky77, Jan 5, 2018.

1. tangowhisky77

tangowhisky77
    Expand Collapse

Yes, metal bends but materials like plastic and composites snap and break. Given enough force even metal shears. In a real crash, you see parts on the floor around the car, bits of plastic from the headlights, inner liners, grills and glass from windows and lights. I don't mean adding lots of tiny particles to make it look more accurate, just for the individual parts like headlights and grills to snap like they would if they were plastic. For example, the interior it just deforms in a really unrealistic way. In real life, interior liners and panels would pop off from the chassis and snap, not bend and stretch sticking to the chassis how they currently do. I know it may be difficult given how it uses the nodes to deform but I'm not a developer, I don't know if it's possible.

#1 tangowhisky77, Jan 5, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2018
  2. BryceCharters

BryceCharters
    Expand Collapse

i agree, things like this would be nice to have. it would have a severe fps impact, especially on low end systems, so maybe these extra details like bumpers snapping and small bits of the car falling off could be an option you can turn off in the menu or something.

3. Gouranga

Gouranga
    Expand Collapse