[SOLVED] Windows 10 laptop booting up issues

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by MisterKenneth, Jul 17, 2016.

  1. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    I had been trying to get this program called Sinking Simulator 2 to work on my Windows 10 laptop. On its page on Gamejolt, it said that with newer AMD drivers the ships would be invisible, but can be fixed by reverting back to earlier AMD catalyst drivers. I found one like what it described, I downloaded it, and it did nothing, so I removed it and framerates with several programs I use dropped significantly. I didn't check BeamNG.Drive, but I assumed the same issue would happen with it.

    Then I tried to fix the issue by downloading a new AMD graphics driver. Did so, it did nothing, so I removed it to make room for another attempt.

    The third time, I went to the AMD site and downloaded their file that detects and installs a driver. It picked one out and it eventually started installing. I went to the bathroom and when I returned, the screen had gone black, then it got slightly brighter and the cursor appeared. The cursor could be moved around, but it wasn't doing anything, so I assumed it got stuck, so I forcefully turned it off. I turned it back on, and now it won't load past the HP startup screen.

    Does anyone by any chance have an idea of what happened? What should I do? :confused:
     
  2. Eastham

    Eastham
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Take your battery out, start the laptop and pull the ac cord out while windows is booting, then plug it in and start it again. Do this until Windows boots into automatic repair, try restoring windows from a previous point. If that doesn't work try startup repair.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    My mom and I took your advice and we set the previous point as the day before. So far, the computer is working. Framerates with my programs I use has been restored.

    Thank you for your advice. ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. VeyronEB

    VeyronEB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,539
    I doubt that game will ever work, its just been flatout broken for ages. My card is OpenGL 4.5 and the game has a minimum of 3.3 yet its still not working. Best thing to do is wait for the developer to fix the game.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,748
    I don't plan to try it ever again, not after what I just dealt with.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice