Question / Support Some (mod) fixtures show up white in BeamNG, any way to fix this?

Discussion in 'Automation' started by RY4NDY, Feb 4, 2021.

  1. RY4NDY

    RY4NDY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    For some mods that use textures rather than colors in Automation (like this one: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2096167283&searchtext=rust) these textures aren't actually used in the BeamNG-exported car; instead these parts appear entirely white.

    For instance I made a beater version of a golf kart I'm working on, it looks like this in Automation:


    But in BeamNG all fixtures from that "rust" mod appear all white:


    After lookin at the BeamNG-exported car's .zip file I saw that the rust textures are in fact also there, but as seen in the screenshot above the textures aren't actually used.

    Is there any way to "fix" it so that it actually uses the textures like it should?
    Or maybe if doing that is not possible/too difficult, instead make the white parts appear as another color, e.g. brown? (since if these parts are solid brown it still doesn't look as good as it would with proper textures of course, but still a lot better than when they're all white).

    I've attached the BeamNG-exported car's .zip file as well if that helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SuperShep1

    SuperShep1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    2,682
    well decals and stuff for automation is very iffy. this most likely happens because of the mod in automation. if you try other decals they show up fine.
     
  3. RY4NDY

    RY4NDY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Yes, I know it happens because of this particular mod (and a couple of others too), and I therefore also asked the mod's creator but he didn't know how to fix it.

    That's why I was wondering if maybe someone on the BeamNG forums knows of a possible fix that can be done by editing the BeamNG car's files instead, since fixing it on the Automation mod's end isn't a possibility.
     
  4. Anueis

    Anueis
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    To fix this issue, you need to assign the fixture material into a paint that looks similar as the rust you have in Automation.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice