1. GPU Fatal Error? Intel HD Graphics 620/630 Crashes? Help us solve them!
    Dismiss Notice

Steam keys: available for alpha testers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tdev, Aug 9, 2014.

  1. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    Something isn't quite right there.
    You should try reinstalling, if it still doesn't work try on a clean Windows installation (VM or something)
     
  2. XyemIncognito

    XyemIncognito
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    I have tried reinstalling, but not on a VM.

    EDIT: Added a screenshot showing steamwebhelper using 100% CPU.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2014-09-02-234608_2560x1440_scrot.png
    #282 XyemIncognito, Sep 3, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
  3. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,089
    Actually, I wonder if it just doesnt like whatever version of linux your using

    Sent from the 3rd galaxy from the talks of tapping
     
  4. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,028
    That adds up to over 100% though which also isnt right
     
  5. XyemIncognito

    XyemIncognito
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    It is showing CPU% against a single CPU core, not against the total CPU available.

    This is really useful, because if I put it in the other mode, so it showed 25%, it would make it look like Steam is only taking up 25% CPU, because it doesn't show the number of CPU cores in my machine.

    Given the same "CPU hogging" application:
    1 core = 100%
    2 core = 50%
    4 core = 25%
    8 core = 12.5%

    The more cores that were in my machine, the lesser the problem would seem to be, despite the problem being exactly the same. It showing it against 1 core allows consistent comparison against other, different core count, setups.

    It is confusing if you are not expecting it though. I can toggle it, if you prefer to see it in "total CPU available"?

    EDIT: For example, I am currently rebuilding my old dual-core machine (for testing IDE drives). If the issue exists there too, it will also show 100% CPU, rather than it showing 25% on my desktop and 50% on this other build.

    EDIT #2: Added a screenshot with "of total CPU available" mode on.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Possibly, though this issue isn't limited to Linux, it is affecting Windows users too. Haven't come across any reports from Mac users though.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2014-09-03-084939_800x600_scrot.png
    #285 XyemIncognito, Sep 3, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
  6. Davidbc

    Davidbc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,335
    If you want to play games just get Windows, that's it.
     
    #286 Davidbc, Sep 3, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
  7. XyemIncognito

    XyemIncognito
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    I can play games in Linux fine, thanks.
     
  8. Davidbc

    Davidbc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,335
    You seem to disagree with yourself:

     
  9. XyemIncognito

    XyemIncognito
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Not being able to play a specific game has nothing to do with "playing games" in general.

    I can't play BeamNG (that I know of, it might run under Wine), but I am currently playing:

    Sir, You Are Being Hunted
    Awesomenauts
    Guns of Icarus Online
    Kerbal Space Progam
    Unreal Tournament 2004
    Unreal Tournament III
    Frozen Synapse
    Amnesia: A Machine For Pigs
    Faster Than Light
    Garry's Mod
    Overgrowth
    Receiver
    Breach & Clear
    Crawl
    Hammerfight
    Left 4 Dead 2
    Portal 2
    Space Pirates and Zombies
    Starbound
    Trine 2
    Gothic 2
    Sacred 2

    "Linux" and "Gamer" haven't been mutually exclusive for ages.. hence why Steam moved to it..

    EDIT: Oh crap, how could I forget Minecraft?!
     
  10. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,028
    It has been reported working under wine. A linux port of Torque3d is being worked on at the moment at which point a native linux port of BeamNG is also supposed to be coming along.
     
  11. XyemIncognito

    XyemIncognito
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Great to hear :)
     
  12. MetalMilitia623

    MetalMilitia623
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    231
    I have long known steam to be a resource hog while the main window is open but this is really intriguing and confusing to me. I want to know why this is happening to you. It could be anything from steam not liking your version of Linux to it not liking your CPU or Motherboard or something. Maybe running a windows VM and installing steam on that will show if the issue is your OS or the machine itself.

    Really strange issues are usually the most fun to try and fix. Although I'd much rather be able to work on it hands on.

    This has got me thinking though, I do remember fairly recently Steam was doing something like this to me where the webhelper was using a ton of my CPU for no reason but I closed steam and restarted it and it hasn't done it since.
     
  13. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,028
    Steam never hogs resources here except when playing video on the store where it likes to shoot up a little but certainly not 100% of a core. It does take about 10 minutes to start though. Across all processes steam creates right now on a 1.8ghz laptop with a steam chat open I have 0.7% cpu used.
     
  14. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,089
    The startup thing sounds strange (as does cpu usage) I think steam just doesnt like your version of linux or something, might I ask what distro you run?

    Sent from the 3rd galaxy from the talks of tapping
     
  15. XyemIncognito

    XyemIncognito
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Arch Linux.

    It would be weird for it to "not like it", as it has been running on it (without hogging an entire CPU core), for the past year.
     
  16. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,028
    Officially steam only supports ubuntu with Unity, Gnome or KDE desktops. Sticking it on arch shouldnt cause that error though.
     
  17. FriendlyPyro

    FriendlyPyro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    How do i get a Steam key....Can anyone help me with that?
     
  18. hobogod

    hobogod
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    how do i order it
     
  19. gabester

    gabester
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Artist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,675
  20. DaeLucky

    DaeLucky
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    How can I get the order ID?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice