1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

THIRD TIME AUTOSAVE failed me. Is it broken - Yes it is

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by krallopian, Feb 12, 2019.

  1. krallopian

    krallopian
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    I don't know what's going on but the editor just crashed making me lose another 2 hours of work. Yesterday I lost 7, and the day before I lost a bunch. Autosave has worked fine for the past month and suddenly past few days it's not working at all.

    I cleared my cache so maybe that changed something even though the editor shows it's still ticked? So I unchecked it and rechecked it to see if there's any difference. But MAN this is getting very annoying
     
  2. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    5,847
    That is normal, listen to Bob Blunderton, he knows how to minimize amount of work you will lose.

    Don't rely on auto anything, I think, that is thing and have backups made, in a way you will lose mostly what you can afford to lose without it killing your motivation etc.

    As amount of stuff on your map increases, that will make editor more likely to fart out, but with bigger projects it will.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. krallopian

    krallopian
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    I'm going to test the idea I suggested, I forgot to! But I've noticed it "glitch" again, which is what happens for a second as it saves. So I'll make a drastic change, let it glitch then just alt+f4 and reload see if it took. I really think what happened was that I cleared the cache and the editor file kept "auto save" checked even though it didn't reapply autosave to some OTHER file. We'll know soon.
    --- Post updated ---
    YUP.

    Sure enough that's what it was.

    Looks like a "bug" to me! I guess the editor reads a preferences file, but those preferences aren't reset once you clear cache or something? Either way, after unchecking auto save and rechecking it, it's back to working.

    WELL GAWLLY.

    @Nadeox1 let the crew know? =)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,635
    Are you referring to the Autosave thing built-in the editor?
    I recommend not trusting it too much, that thing is not tested/used by us even.
    Saving manually is the better way ( CTRL+S )
     
  5. Danny Werewolf

    Danny Werewolf
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,648
    You know it's bad when the devs call autosave "thing"
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  6. CrimsonCrocodile

    CrimsonCrocodile
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    796
    I always press CTRL+S every 10 or so minutes whenever I work on anything important.

    I do it so often it's like a subconscious thing for me now :)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,635
    I swear Blender did this to me.
    Move camera > CTRL+S
    Delete default cube > CTRL+S
    Pressed a key that did nothing? > CTRL+S just to be sure
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  8. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    5,847
    I just wish blender would have CTRL+Shift+S that would add +01 to filename, so in cases where button that did nothing actually did something horrible, you would not need to work all those hundreds extra vertexes off or someting like that.

    Complexity of implementing such for map editing would be quite high though, gigabytes of files copied and zipped each time might also be bit slow :D
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,635
    I believe this is what you are looking for:

    By default it's at 1, so that's why you always have a .blend1 file along your original.
     
  10. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    5,847
    Right, so that makes backup to blend1...32 when saving the file, bit different that I though, but still equally useful, thanks :)
     
  11. krallopian

    krallopian
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Well *I* have trusted it to work, and it at least now y'all know how it does/doesn't work :p

    But I agree with the "move camera, CTRL+S" deal, I'm like that in so many software packages. My issue was that autosave was working fine so I learned to depend on it, then suddenly it wasn't working and I didn't know why.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice