1. Stuck or having problems creating your mod?

WIP Traffic Tool 1.2.1

It's here! Create dynamic traffic on almost any map!

  1. Cop

    Cop
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Very nice, I love it, especially making the Al aware of other cars/obstacles. Yet, something I wanted to know, you said The config file has to have "police" in its name for mod police cars to work, do you think you can improve that in the future? I spawned the police versions of the Delta 88, Oldsmobile and Caprice, they don't react to breaking the law
     
  2. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,237
    This is a bit long and drawn-out, it's worth reading though (don't take it personally).
    I wouldn't go more than 3 AI vehicles with your vehicle active. The AMD 9600 APU is the old Bulldozer/Piledriver series of cores yet - like the FX chip had. Those have lack-luster IPC (instructions per-core speed), and bad FPU's that split to half-speed when you use both cores in a module (they have 1 FPU for physics for every 2 cores they have, they still are 'real' CPU cores though not hyper-threaded ones, containing an arithmetic logic unit each, which defines a core).
    If that's an AM4 CPU/Motherboard, you can easily drop a Ryzen 2200G / 2400G on that socket, and if the BIOS is updated already, it SHOULD boot right up. Performance would DOUBLE (or otherwise be notably better) in BeamNG physics, and it stands to reason that the APU (video portion) of the processor should be notably superior, but you'd have to double-check benchmarks on that. Yes it's worth the $$$ spent but entirely is up to you. Works again as long as BIOS is updated and it's an AM4 platform. FM2 or other FM-named platforms won't be able to benefit from this upgrade (I don't know how old that CPU is off the top of my head - 2014~2016 maybe?). If you bought your machine in the last 2 years (Ryzen came out officially March 2017), it might be AM4.
    The CORE TEMP program and CPU-Z would tell you more about your processor, motherboard, and socket.
    While the graphics board is not great, it'll get you by on low-medium at 720/1080p (either, depending on it's VRAM configuration), for now - heck the 2400G is close to a GTX 1050 in performance and the 730GT might get beat by the 2200G too.
    Regardless, it's still worth the upgrade. I believe an 4-core 4-thread, 6-core 12-thread, and 8-core 16-thread Ryzen 3200G~3600G series is coming in June or July of this summer. The G-series *might* launch then or it might be later, not 100% sure. Names not 100% - and specs subject to change of-course - but the chips should make for great budget gaming or HTPC stuff, and on 7nm, you'll have enough clock-speed + 12~25% IPC improvement too. Ryzen 3xxx at 3.6GHZ does what Ryzen 2xxx did at 4.3ghz for what it's worth.
    So if you folks love traffic tool here and are on a budget, definitely keep an eye on Ryzen 3xxx this summer. With higher clocks, better IPC, less core-to-core lag (which was sometimes a problem), and now cooler-running with a lower NM process node, it should be a real win with lots of cores for this TRAFFIC (up to 16 cores 32 threads specified for AM4 mainstream platform).
    Again, to be clear, these chips will also bring PCI-express 4.0 for your top video card slot for existing motherboards, (more with 5xx series chipsets), and will socket into ALL am4 boards with a BIOS update applied before your attempt.
     
  3. Gamergull

    Gamergull
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    282
    For the future, yes. Just now, I added a quick function where you can manually designate other police cars. It's ugly, but it works. I'll explain how it works after the release. Doing social things today!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. [HHA] Midnightrider

    [HHA] Midnightrider
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    this is what it says next to processor amd a8-9600 radeon r7 10 compute cores 4c+6g
     
  5. Cop

    Cop
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Okay. I also noticed something funny/odd. Whenever I spawned one of the said police cars and they started to drive, their color changed with every spawn. For example, it was black and green or black and red, and sometimes, it was completely black. Just thought it could be of interest for you in future updates
     
  6. Gamergull

    Gamergull
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    282
    Heh, yeah the color change mode affects all cars (unless the code tags it as "police"). My new user function can be a temporary solution to that. A future version of this app will likely have a tab where you can set advanced settings for individual cars and other things.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Cop

    Cop
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Looking forward to it but that's the point. This color change happened only to the police cars that don't react to breaking the law. Normal cars stayed in the color they're spawned in first. If it helps, I get a screenshot if I see it again.

    And just thinking out loud, but a feature to turn on headlights would be useful during night, morning and evening.
     
  8. B727ClassicFlyer

    B727ClassicFlyer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,187
    Just some teasers to hold you over until the release.~
    screenshot_2019-03-07_20-04-28.png screenshot_2019-03-07_20-10-27.png screenshot_2019-03-07_20-31-12.png screenshot_2019-03-07_20-54-44.png screenshot_2019-03-07_21-28-43.png screenshot_2019-03-07_21-30-35.png
     
    • Like Like x 5
  9. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    871
    Are you kidding me? Are we getting cops? :-O
     
  10. Kitaaaa

    Kitaaaa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Well, in cases where the map maker can't fix it, it would be useful to have a function that forces the tool to only spawn traffic travelling in the player's direction (or against it). One could set up a gameplay scenario based on an overtaking challenge, like Outrun, or just have respawning opponent cars to fill out a track day on Road Atlanta, since the AI isn't up to the task of actually racing anybody. As it is, the tool assumes all roads have an opposing lane of traffic, and spawns cars coming the other direction on race tracks, as well as cars travelling in the player's direction, which is funny but not ideal.
     
  11. steveh

    steveh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    I've subscribed to this mod, restarted the game but it doesn't appear in my UI - various other things do - rev meter etc.
    I notice in the instructions it says scroll down, but I don't see how since it's just the whole screen in view.
    Confused... Any advice appreciated.
     
  12. Alex_Farmer557

    Alex_Farmer557
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,770
    Hit escape to open up the menu, open the 'apps' tab and scroll down to find the traffic tool
     
  13. steveh

    steveh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    I must be seriously missing something here...
    I do ESC, then customize UI apps, this shows Tacho2, Vehicle Damage, Radial Menu etc
    but not this mod and I can see no way to scroll since it's just a full screen as per normal gameplay but with some overlays.
    (I tried the mouse wheel and arrows but nothing moves..)
     
  14. BossHog75

    BossHog75
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Hi Gamergull, i just downloaded your mod but i cant seem to get the controls/UI on my screen. how do i start it?
     
  15. Gamergull

    Gamergull
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    282
    It's not showing up under UI Apps at all? Odd issue... how many gameplay altering mods do you have? Any errors when you press tilde (~) ?

    Edit: This video shows all the steps needed. If you don't see Traffic Tool at all, then something is quite screwy.


    --- Post updated ---
    Ack, last minute bugs! Sadler Gorge broke my script in multiple ways, and I just spent an hour bashing those bugs. I'll try to release this update before midnight, my time.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. carsmin

    carsmin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1,461
    hello!
    could you make it spawn not only cars but modded cars
     
  17. Projekt535

    Projekt535
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    @steveh I think I see what's happening. After you go to "Edit UI" you need to click on the orange circle with the + symbol in it, then you scroll to find the app, or just Search in the upper right corner.

    https://wiki.beamng.com/User_Interface_&_Apps
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. steveh

    steveh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Yes, found it - many thanks. I've not used this feature before.

    Just got to find the cars now...
    :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. _Archer_

    _Archer_
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Great one. Thank you for your effort.
    The AI vehicles still are pretty dumb and crash a lot. On narrow roads they also drive on the wrong side of the road a lot and cause head on collisions, which is probably due to the maps and not due to the app. It creates some really nice atmosphere though and makes free roaming a lot more interesting.

    Is there a way to reduce the volume of the AI cars' engines? They are as loud as the car I'm driving, which I find pretty irritating at times. Especially when I can hear the cars but not yet see them.
     
  20. Gamergull

    Gamergull
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    282
    Soon! :)

    Smart traffic AI has a long way to go in this game. I made them work better on narrow roads, but it's not perfect. And yeah, some maps just need tweaking done for AI paths for a better experience.

    For the engine volume, I don't think there's a practical way to do it. The AI still shifts at high revs, and I can't tell it not to. The issue really gets magnified with Maluchs, lol.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 2
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice