[Tutorial] - Creating your own vehicle

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by Nadeox1, Aug 13, 2013.

  1. dkutch

    dkutch
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    In blender there's a 3d cursor that you can read coords from.
     
  2. l2ounD

    l2ounD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    woohoo! I got the box to show up. :)

    Thanks for the write-up for newbs like me.

    Follow up question; can someone explain the "triangles" thing? I've tried searching the wiki and dont see anything.
     
  3. gabester

    gabester
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Director
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Triangles are for collision (between vehicles) and aero drag. They are simply a list of 3 nodes. Direction is extremely important - you must list the nodes counter-clockwise for them to face outwards. If the triangle is backwards, the collision will work horribly (we are working on a fix). I believe debug mode 8 shows collision triangles in red, and it will help you debug the direction too. The "dragCoef" value can be applied to individual coltris (on my vehicles I just apply it globally, since they have no specific aero effects like wings).
     
  4. thomas25

    thomas25
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    hey guys is there any chance of a video tutorial on vehicle creation
     
  5. moosedks

    moosedks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    i got the cube in but i can't get the mesh to appear

    "flexmesh has no node bindings, ignoring: shell" shell is the name of the part in blender
     
    #105 moosedks, Dec 16, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2013
  6. Tango91

    Tango91
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    You need to make sure that the group the 8 nodes are part of matches the name of the group you're trying to bind the flexbody to.

    So, for instance:

    Code:
    "nodes": [,
    {"group": "[B]awesome_cube[/B]"},
    ...
    ...
    ...
    ],
    should be paired with

    Code:
    "flexbodies":  [,
    ["mesh", "[group]:"],
    
    ["shell", "[B]awesome_cube[/B]"],
    
    ]
     
  7. moosedks

    moosedks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Code:
    {"shellol": {    <- does this name matter?    
    "information":{
            "authors":"YourName",
            "name":"does this matter?",
            }
        "scalebeamSpring":1,
        "scalebeamDamp":1,
        "scalebeamDeform":1,
        "scalebeamStrength":1,
        "selfCollisionThickness":0.02,
        "remoteCollisionThickness":0.06,
        "slotType":"main",
        "refNodes":[
            ["ref:", "back:", "left:", "up:"]
            ["1a", "1b", "1c", "1e"]
            ],
        "flexbodies": [
             ["mesh", "[group]:"],
             ["shell", "body"],  
         ],
    "nodes": [         ["id", "posX", "posY", "posZ"],
             {"nodeWeight":70},
             {"group":"body"},
             {"frictionCoef":0.7},
             {"nodeMaterial":"|NM_METAL"},
             {"collision":true}
             {"selfCollision":false}
             ["1a", 1, 1, 0],
             ["1b", 0, 1, 0],
             ["1c", 1, 0, 0],
             ["1d", 0, 0, 0],
             ["1e", 1, 1, 1],
             ["1f", 0, 1, 1],
             ["2a", 1, 0, 1],
             ["2b", 0, 0, 1],
        ],
          "beams": [     ["id1:", "id2:"], 
         {"beamSpring":500000,"beamDamp":800},
         {"beamDeform":75000,"beamStrength":"FLT_MAX"},
         // bottom
         ["1a","1b"],
         ["1c","1d"],
         ["1a","1c"],
         ["1b","1d"],
         // top
         ["1e","2a"],
         ["1f","2b"],
         ["1e","2b"],
         ["1f","2a"],
         // support 
         ["1a","1e"],
         ["1b","1f"],
         ["1c","2a"],
         ["1d","2b"],
    
    
    
    
         
         // diagonals
         ["1a","1d"],
         ["1b","1c"],
         ["1e","1f"],
         ["2a","2b"],
         
         ["1f","1a"],
         ["1b","1e"],
         ["1e","1c"],
         ["2a","1a"],
         
         ["2b","1b"],
         ["1f","1d"],
         ["1d","2a"],
         ["1c","2b"],
        
        ],
    }
    }
    it says that it "added 1 flexmeshes" in the console but it still isn't there
     
    #107 moosedks, Dec 20, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2013
  8. Kirahl

    Kirahl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Add square brackets around "body". Including the quotation marks.
     
  9. moosedks

    moosedks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Code:
    "flexbodies": [ 
            ["mesh", "[group]:"],
             ["shell", ["body"]],
         ],
    "nodes": [         ["id", "posX", "posY", "posZ"],
             {"nodeWeight":70},
             {"group":"body"},
             {"frictionCoef":0.7},
             {"nodeMaterial":"|NM_METAL"},
             {"collision":true}
             {"selfCollision":false}
    still nothing. I raised the box way up in the air to make sure it wasn't underground but I still don't see it.
    screenshot_00005.png
    I don't understand why it doesn't show up. could it be something wrong in blender?

    edit: I saw a post on the forums a long time ago where someone was able to make the model for the h15 transparent so they could see the covet on the inside. They did it in game without changing the mesh I think. How could I do this? It's hard to see the beams and nodes
     
    #109 moosedks, Dec 20, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2013
  10. Tango91

    Tango91
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    You have to assign the part at least 1 material. So in object mode, right click your part to select it and in the menu here
    blender.PNG
    you can create a basic coloured material and apply it. Then re-export it and it should show up in game if no other errors are popping up.
     
    #110 Tango91, Dec 20, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2013
  11. argilla11

    argilla11
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    This is an AMAZING editor.
     
  12. maxg354

    maxg354
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    hello if you dont mind could i have a starter underchassi like the one in the picture for a starter person?

    - - - Updated - - -

    ok well you can use blender heres a link http://www.blender.org/download/
     
  13. Mopower77

    Mopower77
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    743
    So let's say I want to take a vehicle that's in game and modify it? Like if I wanted to take oh... the bruckel moonhawk, and take the frame rails and turn them to solid iron, or add small patches on the car. Would I have to take the entire car apart to do the first? And the 2nd I assume could be done fairly simply...
     
  14. AX53

    AX53
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    570
    I am really confused about this stuff...

    Code:
    {"RPS13": {    "information":{
            "authors":"P3rtan",
            "name":"Nissan 180sx RPS13",
        }
        "refNodes":[        ["ref:", "back:", "left:", "up:"]
            ["1a", "1b", "1c", "1e"]
            ],
        
        "nodes": [         ["id", "posX", "posY", "posZ"],
             {"nodeWeight":70},
             {"group":"RPS13"},
             {"frictionCoef":0.7},
             {"nodeMaterial":"|NM_METAL"},
             {"collision":true}
             {"selfCollision":false}
    
    
    
    
    ],
        "nodes": [         ["id", "posX", "posY", "posZ"],
             {"nodeWeight":70},
             {"group":"RPS13"},
             {"frictionCoef":0.7},
             {"nodeMaterial":"|NM_METAL"},
             {"collision":true}
             {"selfCollision":false}
             ["1a", 1, 1, 0],
             ["1b", 0, 1, 0],
             ["1c", 1, 0, 0],
             ["1d", 0, 0, 0],
             ["1e", 1, 1, 1],
             ["1f", 0, 1, 1],
             ["2a", 1, 0, 1],
             ["2b", 0, 0, 1],
        ],
    
    
    
    
        "beams": [     ["id1:", "id2:"], 
         {"beamSpring":500000,"beamDamp":800},
         {"beamDeform":75000,"beamStrength":"FLT_MAX"},
         // bottom
         ["1a","1b"],
         ["1c","1d"],
         ["1a","1c"],
         ["1b","1d"],
         // top
         ["1e","2a"],
         ["1f","2b"],
         ["1e","2b"],
         ["1f","2a"],
         // support 
         ["1a","1e"],
         ["1b","1f"],
         ["1c","2a"],
         ["1d","2b"],
    
    
    
    
         
         // diagonals
         ["1a","1d"],
         ["1b","1c"],
         ["1e","1f"],
         ["2a","2b"],
         
         ["1f","1a"],
         ["1b","1e"],
         ["1e","1c"],
         ["2a","1a"],
         
         ["2b","1b"],
         ["1f","1d"],
         ["1d","2a"],
         ["1c","2b"],
        
        ],
    
    
    }
    }

    Here is my code.

    What I think should happen: I should get a box made out of beams.
    What actually happens: The game spawns in the whole object with all meshes and the game freezes.

    After removing all the models from the folder. The game still freezes yet no model is shown.

    Yes, folder is called 'RPS13'
     
    #114 AX53, Jan 15, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2014
  15. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,960
    You need a flexbody and engine section before a jbeam will load for some reason, even if they are empty.
     
  16. AX53

    AX53
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    570
    Engine section?

    What if I'm making an object without an engine. Would I still need this engine section?

    Edit:

    Well, since this tutorial didn't work (at least not for me) I've now successfully gotten my model in-game using the barrier as base.
     
    #116 AX53, Jan 15, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2014
  17. moosedks

    moosedks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    you don't need an engine but you do need a flexbody section.
     
  18. Singh336

    Singh336
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    208

    This is great, but has anyone thought about this for 3ds max?



    Also, I have this

    Code:
    
    {"bmwe30": {    "information":{
            "authors":"Singh",
            "name":"BMW E30 M3",
        },
        "refNodes":[
            ["ref:", "back:", "left:", "up:"]
            ["0", "1", "2", "3"]
            ],
        
    
    
        "nodes": [         ["id", "posX", "posY", "posZ"],
             {"nodeWeight":70},
             {"group":"MyCar"},
             {"frictionCoef":0.7},
             {"nodeMaterial":"|NM_METAL"},
             {"collision":true}
             {"selfCollision":false}
             ["1a", 1, 1, 0],
             ["1b", 0, 1, 0],
             ["1c", 1, 0, 0],
             ["1d", 0, 0, 0],
             ["1e", 1, 1, 1],
             ["1f", 0, 1, 1],
             ["2a", 1, 0, 1],
             ["2b", 0, 0, 1],
        ],
    	
        "beams": [     ["id1:", "id2:"], 
         {"beamSpring":500000,"beamDamp":800},
         {"beamDeform":75000,"beamStrength":"FLT_MAX"},
         // bottom
         ["1a","1b"],
         ["1c","1d"],
         ["1a","1c"],
         ["1b","1d"],
         // top
         ["1e","2a"],
         ["1f","2b"],
         ["1e","2b"],
         ["1f","2a"],
         // support 
         ["1a","1e"],
         ["1b","1f"],
         ["1c","2a"],
         ["1d","2b"],
    
    
    
    
         
         // diagonals
         ["1a","1d"],
         ["1b","1c"],
         ["1e","1f"],
         ["2a","2b"],
         
         ["1f","1a"],
         ["1b","1e"],
         ["1e","1c"],
         ["2a","1a"],
         
         ["2b","1b"],
         ["1f","1d"],
         ["1d","2a"],
         ["1c","2b"],
        
        ],
    	
    	    "flexbodies": [
             ["mesh", "[group]:"],
             ["bmwe30_chassis", ["MyCar"]]
         ],
    
    
    }
    }
    
    
    I didn't change the group from "mycar" didn't think that was needed, I tried to keep good syntax, but the OP should of added their working complete jbeam file at the end of the tutorial because as following through I didn't realize I copied and pasted stuff twice until I looked it over.


    I'm getting "Missing slotype for part bmwe30"

    ... the model dae is bmwe30.dae

    and the mesh name inside 3ds max was set to "bmwe30_chassis"

    what else :S

    - - - Updated - - -

    Okay first of all, maybe its just me but this tutorial really needed some serious editing and additions.

    I followed it front to back and no matter what it was NOT working like it showed.


    Its really frustrating enough to follow directions that you have never done before and then to find out there is missing info.


    Apparently, maybe it was just for me, but the game cried for "slot type" and other stuff that I forgot, I had to get it from another file. I know that common sense, but it was more frustrating and run around than needed. I wish a final jbeam file was posted for reference and comparison.

    Now I feel Like i got somewhere but still no mesh is showing.

    I haven't had such a hard time modding a game since LFS 10 years ago.


     
  19. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,685
    I'm sorry if some of you didn't find it easy to follow. Modding beamng is kinda hard if it's your first time. I will try to make the tutorial more friendly in these days.
     
  20. Singh336

    Singh336
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    208
    It's all good, I don't want to sound ungrateful that you made a tutorial in the first place.


    I just want to say when you do make a tutorial you have to look at it from a n00bs perspective and you can't assume they know to add anything extra in the file if you don't tell them too.

    Think of the tutorial as a staircase... too many small steps surely is boring and will take too long, little but big steps might be too difficult for some people so you have to have just enough steps the right size so everyone can get up the staircase.

    However if you leave out steps then people like me are going to fall off the damn thing.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice