[Tutorial] - Creating your own vehicle

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by Nadeox1, Aug 13, 2013.

  1. wikchi

    wikchi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    is there a easy way to resize wheels? Wunna make some rally cars
     
  2. Singh336

    Singh336
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    208
    I'm asking for help

    ALL I AM TRYING TO DO RIGHT NOW IS GET THE CHASSIS MESH TO SHOW IN GAME

    I was able to import the pickup.dae into max, it was crashing before because even though I had max 2009 sp1, and it supported .dae import / export natively... somehow the FBX plugin had to be updated... ridiculous.

    Anyways I see how gabe laid all the parts out like the wheels which surprised me, I thought they would be centered on the scene, its nice to see they don't have to be...

    I also see he named all of his parts starting with "node_" instead of "pickup_frame" he named the frame "node_pickup_frame" in the .jbeam i see the reference to the model/mesh as "pickup_frame" without the "node_" in front of it, so I tried the same thing with my car but no luck to get the mesh to show in game.


    Here is the Jbeam currently

    Code:
    [/COLOR]{"bmwe30": {
        "information":{
            "authors":"Singh",
            "name":"BMW E30 M3",
        }
    	
    	"slotType" : "main",
    	"slots": [
    		["type", "default", "description"]
    	],
    	"dragCoef":10,
    	"scalebeamSpring":0.84,
    	"scalebeamDamp":1.3,
    	"scalebeamDeform":1.5,
    	"scalebeamStrength":1.78,
    	
        "refNodes":[
            ["ref:", "back:", "left:", "up:"]
            ["1a", "1b", "1c", "1d"]
            ],
        
    		"cameraExternal":{
    		"distance":6.5,
    		"distanceMin":4,
    		"offset":{"x":0, "y":0.3, "z":0.75},
    		"fov":65,
    		},
    		
    		
    	 	"flexbodies": [
    		 ["mesh", "[group]:", "nonFlexMaterials"],
    		 //{"disableSection":1},
    		 {"rotation":{"x":0, "y":0, "z":0}, "translation":{"x":0, "y":0, "z":0}},
    		 //{"debugPositioning":true},
    		 {"isCollisionMesh":false},
    		 
    		 //frame
    		 ["bmwe30", ["MyCar"]],
    		 
    	 ],
    
    
        "nodes": [         ["id", "posX", "posY", "posZ"],
             {"nodeWeight":70},
             {"group":"MyCar"},
             {"frictionCoef":0.7},
             {"nodeMaterial":"|NM_METAL"},
             {"collision":true}
             {"selfCollision":false}
             ["1a", -0.3, -0.2, 0.2],
             ["1b", -0.3, 0.3, 0.2],
             ["1c", 0.3, -0.2, 0.2],
             ["1d", -0.3, -0.2, 0.3],
        ],
    	
        "beams": [     ["id1:", "id2:"], 
         {"beamSpring":500000,"beamDamp":800},
         {"beamDeform":75000,"beamStrength":"FLT_MAX"},
         // bottom
         ["1a","1b"],
         ["1c","1d"],
         ["1a","1c"],
         ["1b","1d"],
         // top
         ["1e","2a"],
         ["1f","2b"],
         ["1e","2b"],
         ["1f","2a"],
         // support 
         ["1a","1e"],
         ["1b","1f"],
         ["1c","2a"],
         ["1d","2b"],
    
    
    
    
         
         // diagonals
         ["1a","1d"],
         ["1b","1c"],
         ["1e","1f"],
         ["2a","2b"],
         
         ["1f","1a"],
         ["1b","1e"],
         ["1e","1c"],
         ["2a","1a"],
         
         ["2b","1b"],
         ["1f","1d"],
         ["1d","2a"],
         ["1c","2b"],
        
        ],
    
    
    }
    }
    [COLOR=#666666]
    Attached is the vehicle folder with .jbeam and .dae files ( only one of each right now, very simple) and the max file


    - - - Updated - - -

    I got the car to show up , but im having a trouble with "bindings"

    http://www.beamng.com/threads/6494-Singh-s-BMW-E30-M3-Just-for-Practice?p=81163#post81163

    28.283905|BEAMNG| flexmesh has no node bindings, ignoring: bmw_lowerarm
    28.283944|BEAMNG| flexmesh has no node bindings, ignoring: chassis
    28.283986|BEAMNG| INFO| - added 0 flexMeshes
    28.284163|BEAMNG| ERR | lua/vehicle/sensors.lua:35: attempt to perform arithmetic on field 'nodeWeight' (a nil value)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Doyle524

    Doyle524
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    This might help, from earlier in the thread:

    Good luck! Hopefully by the time I get a model where I want it in Max we will have this all ironed out for n00bs like us ;)

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
     
  4. Singh336

    Singh336
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    208
    Hey, thanks for your post, but the problem I had was the model was scaled wrong in max, to CM not Meters so it was VERY tiny, like 4CM long a bit under ground and I didn't notice it.

    Since then I've made a lot of progress, check the link in my sig to the thread


    EDIT: the post you quoted of mine actually was about the bindings yes, the exported jbeam from gregs editor didn't include some of the info needed like the weight and group of the nodes, that was the issue.
     
  5. Tha Smit

    Tha Smit
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks to this tutorial and the wonderful discussions that go on in this thread I have gotten my oversized Audi shell into the game :D

    Thanks guys!
     

    Attached Files:

    • ss (2014-02-26 at 10.59.44).jpg
  6. FeelsBadBro

    FeelsBadBro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Hi a few days ago i made a model its not 100% done yet but i'm working on it

    So i went to put this in the game but i wont work here are some pics


    First the model is made of cubes etc so as you can see
    03.png

    The i put the things to should be togheter in a group
    05.png

    Here is the coding Need help
    01.png 02.png

    Here is the folder its called Buggytest

    04.png


    Here is it in game :( i cant move the camera etc
    06.png



    I'll really appreciate all the help that i get from you guys
     
  7. Potato

    Potato
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,159
    If you press ~, and open up the thingy (I forgot what its called), it should tell you what is making the game freeze.
     
  8. FeelsBadBro

    FeelsBadBro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Put ~ in Notepad or beamng?
     
  9. Potato

    Potato
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,159
    In beamng, press ~, and a screen will come up and tell you what's going on in the game. It's not debug mode.
     
  10. FeelsBadBro

    FeelsBadBro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    80
  11. ThreeDTech21

    ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,616
    I followed the tutorial perfectly, copy and pasted your code from the tutorial into notepad++ and saved to the right folder as a jbeam, but beamng crashes when I try to load the jbeam. any ideas?
     
  12. Narwhal

    Narwhal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,698
    i think this sometimes happens when there is no flexbody section(i think)
     
  13. ThreeDTech21

    ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,616
    ahh how do i make a flexbody? is it a seperate file or is it a line of code?
     
  14. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,082

    Console
     
  15. ThreeDTech21

    ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,616
    Ok thank you, I'll give that a try tonite,

    what im trying to do is test one part of my car. Im tying to put the hood of my car into the game.

    It worked with the moonhawk file as you can see the hood is in the game.
    moonhawk hood in game.JPG

    To acomplish that I used just these two moonhawk files: moonhawk.dae and moonhawk_hood.jbeam
    moonhawk files.JPG

    to my surprise the game engine itself generated two extra files when the game ran called: materials.cs and moonhawk.cached.dts (unless that's normal)
    moonhawk worked.JPG

    I tried to do this same exact with my own car file: hyundai_elantra1.dae and moonhawk_hood.jbeam
    hyundai files.JPG

    and this is the result
    error report.JPG
    the game crashes.
     
    #135 ThreeDTech21, Mar 19, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
  16. CBJ023

    CBJ023
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks for this tutorial it was very helpful. I'm currently starting 3d modeling it's much harder than I thought. This will help once I actually create the model. One question, when creating a vehicle in a 3d model program do you save it as different parts in that program and export then load it in Beamng or is there another program I do that in?
     
  17. ThreeDTech21

    ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,616
    yes you must save it as different parts within the 3D program, beamng will understand the parts and and the names when creating a jbeam file, the names of the parts are called during debuging. looks like the picture below.

    blender names.JPG
     
  18. orangelazer

    orangelazer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    how do i do wheels?
     
  19. TomiL88

    TomiL88
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Ok what the hell!?
    The frame has it´s origin at 0,0,0

    Oh why oh why do I suck...:mad:

    When I made the test Cube thing as in tutorial, everything matches prefectly.
     

    Attached Files:

    • nbmess.jpg
  20. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,683
    You applied all object scaling/rotation before exporting (CTRL+A)?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice