1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

User Interface Feedback Thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Leeloo, Dec 2, 2021.

  1. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    I wasn't even mentioning UI apps, though you got a point there :) What I mentioned was html textures. As for the UI apps : Yeah ! For me they may be looking far more technical and simplified? But I think Diamondback has a good reason to state 'If it only where that simple' and I think I know why. Because the UI apps, for instance, are windowed and scalable :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    436
    Oh my bad I misinterpreted you. So for rendering dashboard stuff, couldn't you just do a two pass render of rendering the ImGui gauge cluster to a framebuffer object first and then texturing the dash with that framebuffer object? But like I said before, an immediate mode GUI library would allow you to position and resize apps all over the window. And the World Editor is a working example of this.
    --- Post updated ---
    Although you'd probably want to use a better looking ImGUI like Nuklear: https://github.com/Immediate-Mode-UI/Nuklear (OpenGL, DirectX, Vulkan)
     
  3. Tuner from America

    Tuner from America
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,221
    I'd like it if all the buttons and menu's weren't shoved to the very top or bottom when you press escape, but instead were more closer together in a different spot. Also I don't like how you have to press escape 2 times after you're done messing around in settings or vehicle config, as before it was press escape once and you'd be returned back to a "regular" state if you will, with the UI showing. Just a slight inconvenience that I have but is very noticeable after playing with the old UI for nearly 5 1/2 years now
    upload_2021-12-3_15-46-57.png
    --- Post updated ---
    and It'd be more convenient if the indicator for the "paused game" was centered, as with this new UI (admittedly) it's easy to forget if the game is still paused until you look at the small indicator in the top right corner. And then give us the option to maybe change the menu sounds, and lower the volume independently of any other things in the game.
     
    #103 Tuner from America, Dec 3, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2021
    • Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 1
  4. IonicOwl

    IonicOwl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    221
    UI design is infinitely better than the old one. Looks more like a game and less like a point-of-sale utility now. Moving the buttons to the top edge was a good move, sorts the problem of people with ultra-wides having to trek across the screen to get to the left-edge, and the additional horizonal space allows for text labels so you don't need to hover over icons to see what they do.

    I really like the sounds, something charming about them. No issues with speed, aside from the initial stuttering I got from the game in general when I first booted it up, I presume that's normal shader caching at first runtime etc.

    The map view is excellent.. I always hated loading up the map in free-roam, then having to load it again if I decided I wanted to play a time-trial on the same map. Very impressed with how fast you can quick-travel across the map.

    Just wanted to echo the offset player arrow in the navigation UI app. Also having issues with the radial menu. I rarely use it, but I did test it anyway and neither pressing the menu button up top, or the E key seems to bring it up. For anyone complaining, know that this appears to be a bug and not a removed feature of the UI.... report the issue and wait for them to fix it in a minor release.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    3,021
    Yeah the map is extremely cool. Still no performance fixes though
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. IonicOwl

    IonicOwl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    221
    upload_2021-12-3_21-16-55.png
    Still some work to do I think.
     
  7. erykmoz

    erykmoz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Hey. I pretty much like the new design, but i have one wish.
    I use the "shift point debug" and "torque curve" UI apps to adjust my transmission and engine, but on the new UI the UI apps dissapear while being in parts/ tuning menu and it gets really annoying to constantly double press ESC to see the changes and reopen parts/ tuning menu and find needed values to retweak them and repeat this process again for many times. This problem didn't exist with old UI and i would like to have some option or whatever to bring back this old behaviour, where at least those 2 apps are still visble while being in customization menu.
    Other than that i got some bugs and glitches, that were reported by other users, but i'm sure they will be done soon and i'm pretty happy with the new changes.
     
  8. tempotomato

    tempotomato
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Is anyone else's default vehicle not saving/loading properly? I haven't seen any post about this in the new update, but when I save any vehicle (covet, 200bx, etc) as the default in the vehicle tab, it will always load as the blue d-series when opening any map. It does say "configuration saved" in the upper left after pressing save though. The "load default" button doesn't do anything either.

    edit: nevermind I found the solution in a recent thread. The "default.pc" file in the user folder is missing the line:

    "model":"[insert car name]",

    and adding that line using the name of the last car saved as default fixes the whole issue.
     
    #108 tempotomato, Dec 4, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2021
  9. CDRGuy

    CDRGuy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    I don't have a triple monitor setup, I only use 1 monitor. The "Multi-monitor render" is off. I forgot to note, that this happens with all map mods
    Multimonitorenderoff.jpg
     
  10. CrashTestFan

    CrashTestFan
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    UI is meh, design is inconsistent. Very difficult to use. NO RADIAL MENU! :(
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Cheddar Charles

    Cheddar Charles
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2020
    Messages:
    44
    I like the UI, I just wish it hadn't destroyed my key binds to the controller.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. CDRGuy

    CDRGuy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    I wish the BeamNG Drive team didn't mess with the UI. It feels like it was rushed and I think it shows.

    The UI problems I witnessed:
    1. Anything over 1080p (Like 1440p & 2160p), the game acts like it stuck in 1080p, regardless if its set to windowed or fullscreen. Resulting in soft looking text.
    2. The slow UI feels very slow, and mind you the game is installed on a Gen3 M.2 NVMe SSD (Cached or not). (The Old UI felt snappy when everything was cached)
    3. If you play on a map mod, chances are you gonna encounter the "fov bug", rather then shifting the camera to the side, it skews everything and you are unable to see what your doing.
    4. Dark mode is a good idea at first but this game is a bright one. Technically playing this game (with the lights on & forced dark mode) can damage your eyes just the same as how you would play in the dark with full brightness on a monitor.
    5. Memory Usage. I noticed (With Same mods and even no mods) the game eats up more memory. In-game I sometimes get a "80% memory usage" warning (When using the same mods). Which means the UI slows down even more.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  13. flight1sim

    flight1sim
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Overall I'm not sure I like the new UI but there are a few glaring issues that have been bothering me:
    1. If I am tuning the suspension of the car, not being able to see the alignment ui app to check camber/toe makes it a much harder process, as the new UI does not show UI Apps while in the Vehicle Config menu. Same applies to Engine tuning and not being able to see the dyno graph actively change
    2. some of the UI apps seem to be broken, for example, the dyno graph display will occasionally go blank and will require resizing in the UI Apps menu in order to bring back, until you access another menu and it breaks again.
    3. Generally speaking, my game now freezes much more often when interacting with the UI than it did prior to the update.
     
    #113 flight1sim, Dec 4, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2021
    • Agree Agree x 4
  14. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,810
    Tdev said that the old ui code was very messy and only worked by chance, it was a totally good idea to revamp it, maybe it was a bit rushed but the blame is probably to put on the kids at the update speculation thread. I haven't got any problems really, i play on a potato pc and apart from the vehicles menu taking a while to load the first time it feels kinda the same.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    7,983
    Yeah the first time the menu takes some time to load, but after that it's faster than old one, and parts selector menu is faster too. Color selection is slower though, used to be instant, now takes a second.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. robert357

    robert357
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    For me biggest issue with menu is lack of scaling. I like playing in rather small window an this is how it looks like.
    menu.png
     
  17. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,746
    BeamNGdrive-0235212939-RELEASE-x6412_3_20219_43_30AM.png BeamNGdrive-0240113359-RELEASE-x6412_4_202110_18_33PM.png
    Yep, the main problem is the menu and the UI can no longer exist simultaneously. When tuning/modding, put the relevant UI app(Engine debug/Powertrain/Torquecurve) to the right of the screen. Then open up vehicle customization. However since 0.24 the UI vanish, you have to DOUBLE ESC(you even can't Ctrl+W again to close) to show your app, and extend the vehicle parts tree AGAIN.
    This is a major inconvenience. Before 0.24 It's possible to change engine parts, driving, read the engine power/RPM while leaving the vehicle customization menu open.

    Example: 4x4 or AWD?
    Bring up Powertrain Visualization UI APP
    0.23: Ctrl+W, Frame, Engine, Transmission, choose 4WD transfer case, drive around, click the driveshaft/rangebox button, watch the power flow in the app, choose AWD transfer case, drive around, watch the power flow in the app, Ctrl+W.
    0.24 Ctrl+W, Frame, Engine, Transmission, choose 4WD transfer case, ESC, ESC, drive around, click the driveshaft/rangebox button, watch the power flow in the app.Ctrl+W, Frame, Engine, Transmission, choose AWD transfer case, drive around, watch the power flow in the app, ESC, ESC.
    In 0.24, you have to redo the extend parts tree each time if you want to take a look at the UI

    EDIT: Fixed in 0.24.0.2
     
    #117 default0.0player, Dec 4, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2021
    • Agree Agree x 13
    • Like Like x 1
  18. rwby_chibi

    rwby_chibi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    The new UI is not great at all. New keybinds make it hard to play with on controller, and resetting keybinds can break menus. Radial menu also no longer works on gamepad. You can open it, but can't spin.
    The rest of the update is nice enough, I like the new menu system. It seems the game continues to play with it up, which isn't the greatest as it causes everything to lag. 2/10 for sure, as the UI portion of the update really downgrades everything.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,810
    The radial menu spins for me, but i think the camera should be remapped somewhere, other than that it's great imo.
     
  20. RussianJuice

    RussianJuice
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Hi all. Dont mean to be a negative nancy or anything but I genuinely HATE this new UI. it feels so clumsy and cluttered. things like the wheel now being a seperate menu and also not working half the time . At the very least integrate the wheel into the main menu . The quick travel map is a welcome sight however and looks lovely and implemented very well. I would likely remap the button for the 360 controller. But there in lies the issue . Default is set to Y . main menu is back and the wheel is left thumbstick down. 3 buttons for menus is excessive in my opinion and takes up far to many bindings. I like the idea of a UI revamp as it could do with being ran on a different framework etc. In my opinion 1 main menu with the map , do away with the wheel and add it to another section within the main menu.

    Apologies for the moaning. Cheers
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice