Unsolved Vehicle texturing does not work

Discussion in 'Mod Support' started by MagKiller111, Aug 27, 2016.

  1. MagKiller111

    MagKiller111
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Hey. I am working on a test vehicle to get started to modding beamng but I am stuck on the texturing part. I have made a model that I want to use and I have made a simple basic texture thru blender with the bake function, but it doesnt show up in the game. I have followed the introduction to Vehicle production but it doesnt work for me. Maybe someone can try to explain whats wrong to me so I can fix it.

    Files is attached.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 MagKiller111, Aug 27, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2016
  2. Hondune

    Hondune
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Just had a quick look, couple things i notice

    1. The name of your mesh is "Car" but in your jbeam in the flexbody section you have "MyFirstVehicle" which is the name of the .dae file. This is incorrect, you should use the name of the actual mesh itself instead so in this case "Car"

    2. your jbeam and vehicle mesh shouldnt be the same thing. Its fine for a first test, we all start somewhere. But just so you know in the future, the mesh doesnt have to be the same thing as the jbeam, you can make the mesh whatever you want :)

    3. Im assuming youre following one of the tutorials on the wiki, which is now out dated (we really need to update that, sorry) but you now need an info.json file and the vehicle needs to be packaged differently (i explained both of these things more here http://beamng.com/threads/making-jbeam-structure-visible-in-game.29408/#post-424863) you can take a look at other mods or official vehicles to see what the info.json file is like, its very easy. Just open it with notepad and edit the vehicle and author name

    Hope that helps, good luck :)
     
  3. MagKiller111

    MagKiller111
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Thank you so much for your reply. This worked now but if i added the info.json file it didnt show up in the vehicle selector. But when i removed the info.json file it showed up again. Any clue to that?

    I have also noticed this. What is happening here? The Jbeam structure is outside of the model?

    Sorry for bad english...​
     
    #3 MagKiller111, Aug 27, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2016
  4. Iro

    Iro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,064
    can we see your info.json file?
     
  5. MagKiller111

    MagKiller111
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    copied from the tutorial on the wiki:

    Code:
    {
        "Configuration":"Default",
        "Transmission":"Automatic",
        "Description":"My First test vehicle ever made",
        "Drivetrain":"N/A",
        "Body Style":"Sedan",
        "Value":40900,
        "Performance Class":"6",
        "Config Type":"Factory",
        "default_color":"Scarlet Red"
    }
     
  6. Iro

    Iro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,064
    That's for a configuration, not a vehicle.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice