1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    Solutions and more information may already be available.
  2. GPU Fatal Error? Intel HD Graphics 620/630 Crashes? Help us solve them!
    Dismiss Notice

"Viscotronic" Vehicle Controller Question

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by SHOme1289, Sep 30, 2018.

  1. SHOme1289

    SHOme1289
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,308
    What is it? It is listed as part of the controller code for, lets say, the old Pessima in the transfer case code....I added part of this code to my LeGran AWD system as the vehicle controller, and everything appears to work fine in terms of physically driving, however in the console theres a ton of red errors saying viscotronic is not found in the LUA or anywhere in any of the legran files, except for where my edits mention it in the transfer case code. Any dev or community member have any idea how to properly implement this, or if maybe it has been deprecated? Id like to see if the system acts better with Viscotronic working, compared to how my code currently behaves. Thanks!!!
     
  2. Capkirk

    Capkirk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    731
    The viscotronic controller just unlocks the diff when the handbrake is used, so you can do handbrake turns.
     
  3. SHOme1289

    SHOme1289
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,308
    gochya....so thats what it is for, what trickery needs to be performed in the code for it to not ping a ton of red error messages? rather, how to get it to work on a car that doesnt come stock with it? like the pessima? some sort of LUA editing? Thats something I never got familiar with.....JBeam I am comfortable with, but not LUA, so im not sure how I would go about getting started with implementing it and test and tweaking it
     
  4. metalmuncher

    metalmuncher
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    257
    That's only the secondary purpose, the viscotronic lua mainly controls a viscous coupling to the rear axle, locking it up when the front wheels slip.

    To use the viscotronic lua on another vehicle you would have to set it up similar to the 4wd pessima, with a splitShaft between the gearbox and front and rear diffs.

    EDIT: Actually, I might have that wrong about what it does, looks like it disconnects when the rear wheels are faster than the engine speed?
     
    #4 metalmuncher, Sep 30, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2018
  5. SHOme1289

    SHOme1289
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,308
    yea, I noticed the car does behave that way. when looking at the drivetrain debug app, when I am going over a certain speed, the front wheels lose power and all the power is routed to the rear, you can see the front diff and axles "fade out" so to speak...so maybe it is working correctly, the console is just being a jerk. when I get home ill take a few screen shots of drivetrain debug and console, but I did test the handbrake theory and noticed as soon as the hand brake is applied, the power is cut to the rear immediately. I guess its working fine after all.

    That being said, I would like the power to actually route more to the front, as in a modern CUV for example...I will try to find the other controller responsible for that, unless someone knows which one it is
    --- Post updated ---
    as it is now, the legran handles offroad quite well, with slipper steep inclines being not much of an issue. definitely drives and handles a lot better than stock, thats for sure.
     
  6. SHOme1289

    SHOme1289
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,308
    to bump my own thread, I remember using 2 different vehicle controllers with my old version of the AWD lifted legran wagon. One controller gave the car a solid AWD launch, then torque tapered off from the front axle and directs most of the torque to the rear over acceleration. The other tapered off the rear torque and gave the front wheels all the power. Currently I am using a truck-based 4wd type system, which works great for crawling and offroad and mudding, but over 50 or 60 mph, since the torque is still split in the middle and all 4 wheels get the same amount of torque, the rear end of the car drifts to much...I prefer to have the AWD in place with front biased torque after the initial 50/50 F/R takeoff. What do I do to get the front wheel biased system? Is it a vehicle controller or is it as simple as messing with "powertrain" in the transaxle jbeam file? I remember doing it but I cant remember how I got there.
     
  7. SHOme1289

    SHOme1289
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,308
    since im not getting any help with this, is there any sort of documentation on powertrain? I dont see anything in the wiki.
     
  8. SHOme1289

    SHOme1289
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,308
    instead of creating a new thread, I am asking here....since I am at work, i have some down time, could anyone possibly copy and paste the code for legran rear suspension jbeam? I want to tweak some values while I am doing nothing here and (obviously) dont have beam installed here lol
    --- Post updated ---
    im wondering if anyone is even seeing this post lol
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice