1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.26 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Vulkan API – Feedback, Known Issues, and FAQ

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by Car_Killer, Jun 22, 2021.

  1. amon_igre

    amon_igre
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Have this issue too with any mode on Ryzen 3700x and GTX 1070. I am running the game on Linux so that might add some problems.
     
  2. Car_Killer

    Car_Killer
    Expand Collapse
    QA / Mod Support
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,328
    Intel GPUs are currently broken in Vulkan mode, check the first post :)
    Thank you for testing with a more modern one, I can only test stuff with Sky Lake.
     
  3. monobrau

    monobrau
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    198
    Latest Vulkan api update on West Coast improved fps by about 60% on a 10980xe and 2070 super. Went from 80 fps average on the track with sbr4 to 140 fps average, with stutter being less noticeable, max settings with default dynamic reflection settings. When using 18 cars like an absolute maniac, previously vulkan would run at about 40 fps w/o Dynamic reflections, now runs at average 42-45 with dynamic reflections, and runs at around 48 to 56 fps without reflections. Previously, dx11 would run these cars at about half this speed at most.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Ximako

    Ximako
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    HDR don't work in vulkan mode (when you enable it in the Windows config panel). it's strange because you can clearely see the right colors when you loose the focus on window of the game but as soon you recover it you loose the HDR colors.
     
  5. Car_Killer

    Car_Killer
    Expand Collapse
    QA / Mod Support
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,328
    BeamNG doesn't support HDR at all.
     
  6. lyndon123

    lyndon123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    The game appears frozen when i try to use the Vulkan API mode.

    However, you can hear things going on In the background. things like the engine of the default vehicle and the ambient sounds
     
  7. ealge34913

    ealge34913
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Just writing to confirm that BeamNG still doesn't work on integrated Intel GPU ( Core i5 10210U )
    V 0.26
    On Linux (screenshot, opensuse tumbleweed) and Windows (didn't screenshot but it said "Failed to initialize Vulkan: -6)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screenshotfrom2022-09-1920-34-24.png
  8. moses72

    moses72
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    1,809
  9. bonami2

    bonami2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Run pretty good at like 20 fps with 80 ai and 25 parked car on west coast.

    12700k 5.1p 4.1e 4.0u
    Ddr4 2x16gb 3600 cl14
    6800XT stock
    Had 1 crash in 30 minute except that scaling on all core with hwinfo64 is ways better than on dx11. All 20 thread are loaded 70% + and temp wise it close to r23 100% load
     
  10. Bastschi

    Bastschi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    So much better !
    With 20 AI traffic cars and motion blur + dynamic reflection on WCUSA in 0.26 :
    +15~20 fps thanks to Vulkan

    So 60-70 fps

    I5 12600k
    RTX 3080
    16GB ram

    I just wonder if there is a way to set Vulkan as default ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. thelolrus

    thelolrus
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    Yep.

    I've used the parameter below in BeamNG's launch options in Steam to launch directly to Vulkan. Just keep in mind that this will cause the game to launch directly and skip the launcher altogether.
    -gfx vk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Alecocluc

    Alecocluc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    So I dont know if im the only one, but BeamNG performs better using DXVK than using native vulkan, am I doing something wrong?

    Specs:
    Ryzen 5 3600
    RX590
    32GB RAM
     
  13. Manuel Staedel

    Manuel Staedel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    How can ie automaticly starting with vulcan?
     
  14. tripleage

    tripleage
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    2
    I'm starting to switch to Vulkan API.And I ran into a problem. All working good, but sometimes my computer go freeze. Hear sound game.An error appears after exiting the game. It would be desirable to solve the problem with the computer freeze during the game (help only restart computer) I7 2600 , RX 580 8gb , 12 ram
    --- Post updated ---
    cant launch vulkan with safe mode
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2022-11-30_03-49-52.png
    • 2022-11-30_03-56-38.png
    • 2022-11-30_03-57-54.png
    • Like Like x 1
  15. ZEYN

    ZEYN
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2022
    Messages:
    4
    i cant spawn ai cars game start crash using vulkan api
    rx 6600
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice