1. GPU Fatal Error? Intel HD Graphics 620/630 Crashes? Help us solve them!
    Dismiss Notice

Weird performance drop?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Haida, Jun 2, 2019.

  1. Haida

    Haida
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    632
    So as in title.
    I noticed my PC lost some of it's power in last days.

    BeamNG works worse, Forza Horizon 4 too, didn't check other games.

    BeamNG is running in 30fps, meanwhile Forza works in 50fps and with drops to 40fps.

    Previously both games were running in 60FPS.

    I checked for viruses, all clean.

    PC specs:

    Intel Core i5 8600k with Turbo Boost ON.

    16 GB's of ram.

    1060 6GB.

    What could be the reason?
     
  2. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,826
    It is possible there is something else eating performance, or it can be that you have some throttling issues.

    Throttling issues can be because of GPU cooling, CPU cooling or VRM overheating/failing partly.

    To start figuring out what is happening, I would see GPU and CPU loads and temps during the game using HWinfo and MSI Afterburner for example. Also task manager, check if there are other processes during the game that are using high amount of CPU or GPU.

    With what did you checked viruses with? Malwarebytes Antimalware is pretty reliable usually, some others might not always detect stuff.

    Also it is possible with windows 10 that some update has again caused performance loss or some new driver is installed that kills the performance.

    399.07 Nvidia driver is giving me about 20% better performance than some recent drivers for example.
     
  3. Bob7982

    Bob7982
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    It could be WiFi as Forza might use or need more of it to run it than BeamNG. It could also be how high your graphic settings are on both games (for me I have BeamNG at lowest graphic settings and manage 50 FPS more or less)
     
  4. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,029
    Lolwut. You realise WiFi isnt linked to frame rates in beamng at all, and shouldn't be in Forza either though Forza does have a bug that extreme network latency or packet loss causes stutter as the CPU suddenly has to do more calculations for lag compensation
     
  5. Bob7982

    Bob7982
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Yea now i realize that thanks :))
     
  6. A Turbocharged Turbocharger

    A Turbocharged Turbocharger
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Beam should run on a 1060 just fine on high, monitor your clock speeds and temps like @fufsgfen said, and make sure you are plugged into your discrete GPU
     
  7. Bob7982

    Bob7982
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    what do you mean "discrete GPU"?
     
  8. A Turbocharged Turbocharger

    A Turbocharged Turbocharger
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    There are two types of graphics, integrated graphics, which are built into the cpu. Discrete graphics are in the graphics card. In your case it is the 1060. Make sure your monitor is plugged into the 1060, not the motherboard. If it is plugged into the motherboard, you are using integrated graphics, which are quite crappy and not suited for gaming
     
  9. Bob7982

    Bob7982
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    It’s a laptop so I guess it’s still crappy
     
  10. Alex_Farmer557

    Alex_Farmer557
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    2,245
    ever heard of gaming laptops?
    some have near-desktop processors
     
  11. Bob7982

    Bob7982
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    yea but I dont think im gonna get a new Laptop until this one breaks it still works
     
  12. Svpracer

    Svpracer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    206
    If your trying to play on a laptop, make sure you are in high performance mode and BeamNG is actually using your GTX 1060 to render, not whatever integrated graphics is on that chipset.
     
  13. Haida

    Haida
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Messages:
    632
    I already fixed it. And I'm on desktop.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice