1. This section is for Ideas and Suggestions related to official game content. Don't request licensed vehicles here please. Read the rules here
    Dismiss Notice

West Coast Spec Friendly

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by BeamNGModsTester, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. BeamNGModsTester

    BeamNGModsTester
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I'm really hoping for a "Spec-friendly" version of BeamNG's West Coast map soon.

    Things to remove:
    Water
    Vegetation / Forest
    materials except for concrete and asphalt
    sounds
    SOME static objects
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,491
    Eh. As mod maybe, but don't expect a version with stripped features as official content.
    What are your system specs? Do they meet the minimum requirements at least?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Alex_The_Gamer

    Alex_The_Gamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    I Have 8 gigs but still lag like crazy. what do i do?
     
  4. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,491
    RAM only does tell much.
    Processor model and video card model are more important to know.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  5. Alex_The_Gamer

    Alex_The_Gamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Intel i7 and asus r7 240 series it says
     
  6. Dr. Death

    Dr. Death
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,211
    that tells more but still not enough quite.

    What intel i7 is it? at what frequency?
     
  7. Alex_The_Gamer

    Alex_The_Gamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    I7 2600 running @ 3.40 GHz
     
  8. Dr. Death

    Dr. Death
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,211
    i7 2600k? m? or what? due to the clock speed i ASSUME k but im not too sure.
    --- Post updated ---
    Besides, the obvious answer is that your GPU isn't very powerful. Try decreasing graphical settings.
     
  9. henryjhost

    henryjhost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    I have 16 GB of ram but since I only have a dual core i7 and intel graphics, I can only get 15 Fps in wcusa
     
  10. Alex_The_Gamer

    Alex_The_Gamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    It Says: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.39 GHz
     
  11. Dr. Death

    Dr. Death
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,211
    What are your settings? im getting 30 to 40 with a single car on an i5 2500k and 16gb DDR3
     
  12. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,618
    @Alex_The_Gamer's CPU is getting long in the tooth, but the GPU is the problem. According to passmark it's slower than 8th Generation Intel Core integrated graphics (UHD Graphics 620). The Nvidia GeForce 1060 3GB version is nearly an order of magnitude faster: https://www.videocardbenchmark.net/...40-vs-Intel-UHD-Graphics-620/3566vs2713vs3805

    Passmark pegs the R7 240 as half of the performance of the minimum requirement for BeamNG, a GeForce 550ti. That's the minimum, the recommended is the GeForce 780... https://www.videocardbenchmark.net/...-GTX-550-Ti-vs-GeForce-GTX-780/2713vs16vs2525

    BTW @Dr. Death - the i7-2600 and i7-2600k share the same clocks. There was no i7-2600m. Older k CPUs weren't automatically faster out of the box, they were simply unlocked.

    I'm afraid that the majority of the stuff in @BeamNGModsTester's list would have minimal impact. It's the number of static objects that's the primary issue. Maybe in the future the game's handling of large numbers of static objects will improve. That would have a huge impact. I suspect that West Coast USA was probably created with the assumption that graphics engine performance improvements would come in the future.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  13. Fera

    Fera
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2,788
    That's where you're wrong. Having more objects, especially as forest objects, would improve the performance compared to the current map. The West Coast USA FPS issues are caused by the city being only 2 meshes for the most part, which are always loaded at full detail 24/7, even if you're on the opposite side of the map. This issue could only be fixed by reworking the entire city section into separate meshes for each building, which would be an unbearable ordeal that would be a giant waste of development time.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  14. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3,471
    West Coast Usa will perform better if you press Alt+U to hide UI

    Also shadows off to free some CPU cycles.

    With such card as R7, select lowest details, then make sure dynamic reflections are not checked, after that select custom graphics detail setting and select normal texture quality (if you have vram for it) as it will improve graphical quality a lot. Also setting AF bit higher helps too.

    @Fera, that is only case with GPU performance, WCUSA is very much CPU limited as it is and having more objects would make it probably worse, reason why they put it to one object in first place is to lower CPU usage, afaik.

    They probably have each building as separate in their files, which were just combined for exporting, that is at least my guess as it would allow more flexibility in case it is needed in future.

    GPU side of things is not the greatest challenge, but CPU graphics side is as there are few other aspects competing from that same CPU thread available for them, like UI for example.

    It is very important to understand which one is limiting FPS because complex nature of BeamNG graphical performance.

    Having tested from iGPU to gtx1080, I can tell that it is not as simple as optimizing for GPU performance, devs are quite clever bunch and certainly choice to make city from large objects has been choice made carefully analyzed and tested offering best possible compromise. It is actually more complex than just one object vs many objects, but I believe it is to do with having CPU load somewhat manageable level, so that at least some machines can run the map.
     
  15. henryjhost

    henryjhost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    352
    Lowest possible. It's because I have Intel graphics, and no alternative Graphics card.
     
  16. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,618
    @Fera - I actually didn't realize that. I suspect that @fufsgfen is correct though. It seems that it would be trivial to break up these large meshes if the devs considered it desirable. There are still more statics on WCUSA than ECUSA, even with the 2 huge ones. You might not easily notice them because large numbers are stashed into prefabs.

    FWIW here are some numbers I dredged up. They may not be 100% accurate, I'll be happy if anyone corrects me.

    WCUSA:
    statics - 2109
    forest objects - 42685

    ECUSA:
    statics - 1654
    forest objects - 68827
     
  17. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    566
    I could add that i dont have a high spec computer; 8gb ram, 1050ti, i5 2500k, ssd disk but i get good fps in WCUSA except in the middle and outskirts of the of the city, around one of the (or just THE if the city buildings are one big static, cant remember now) building statics that are heavy AF on my computer for some reason. Might be shadows, a dynamic reflections thing, might be transparency of the guard rails for balconys and what not, might be something else. It used to run smooth all then all of a sudden get WAY laggy. After some update the FPS got more even, instead of being good everywhere and then suddenly mega lag, now its fine just drops the closer i get to mid city.
    I went into the editor a while back and played around with the shadows, since the shadows in BeamNG are way more crisp than in GTAIV (atleast the GTAIV online vids ive seen) so lowered them in the actaul map settings. Made a good positive change for the fps.
     
  18. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3,471
    1050Ti is not quite enough for 1080p on that map, if using high details, I had to resort to normal settings on that card, no dynamic reflections and shadows at partial, or even off.

    Your CPU is also having hard time, closing browser, steam etc. seems to help a bit on that, making sure nothing is eating out CPU time is useful too, even task manager seems to affect a bit.

    But yeah, them shadows run quite high settings, also visual distance if one can cope with disappearing horizon, helps some.

    WCUSA is heavy on GPU as it has less LODs than other maps, but it is also very hard on CPU, would be probably harder if it would not be put to large objects, what other performance reason they would have to do it?

    However even gtx1080 is not enough to have a good burnout/doughnut without lagging at WCUSA, can drop below 50fps despite running solid 60fps otherwise:
    upload_2018-8-15_10-41-58.png
     
  19. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    566
    Ive always had 'luck' with computers running BeamNG smoother than they should. Might be because im used to 30FPS limit from other games.
    In the later updates of BNG dynamic reflections seems to have more impact on my FPS in WCUSA than before.

    For LODs, if ive understood it right, almost all of the city complex is one big static/object with 3 levels of LODs. That could explain the ON/OFF FPS drop ive had earlier. Also, should make quite a difference if one was to split it into smaller files with same or more LODs. Say one object is one block, with 4 LODs and shorter load distance.
    One thing i read on the Torque3D forums was that (and i dont know if this is fixed or not) was that it didnt unload object or if it was the shadows of objects, that wasnt in the view. That way it got really heavy if theres was quite alot of objects loaded even though they werent all in cam/view. One ocject behind another was still being calculated as if in view. Might explain why i get fps lag when im in Free Cam, far away 100meters to kilometers from the vehicle, with it behind a building or something but looking towards the direction of the vehicle.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice