What CPU do you have?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by The _covet, Apr 29, 2018.

  1. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,752
    What if they came out with a 2950X processor, thats always something AMD could do make a new version of the Threadripper
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. BannedByAndroid

    BannedByAndroid
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,236
     
  3. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    Exactly what I am waiting on, leaked documents have it down for summer launch
     
  4. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,752
    Oh right so what would you expect it to be about a 20 core 40 Thread beast with a 300W TDP?
     
  5. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    if rest of range anything to go by, same core count as before, similar tdp, maybe higher clock speed
     
  6. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,752
    so maybe a 4Ghz clock and turbo maybe 4.8Ghz and I would say if that was the case I would say at minimum a 200W TDP because of the increase in performance if the base gets a boost the Turbo should get a boost too....
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    I suppose a major contributing reason there are so few extreme chips on this forum is the age distribution tending towards younger people. Definitely going to be unobtainable for most of the forum. Not that adults can always afford such things either, more often than not they can't. But the age base certainly slims out the pool of people that could even consider it.

    I have decent disposable income. I'm still looking to stagger the purchase. The thing takes huge cooling, hence why I am now on a water loop, for which more parts arrived to expand today and may expand further in future. Probably going to buy boot drive, ram and a water block in advance. Upgrading case and power supply prematurely
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Jackets64

    Jackets64
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    958
    I'm looking to upgrade to that eventually. (maybe)
     
  9. BreadForMen

    BreadForMen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    202
    i7-7700k - Full specs in my signature.
     
  10. lyndon123

    lyndon123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    it is not the best, but it does what i want it to do. It is also relatively fast. I would also strongly advise upgrading your gt1030 to an rx 460. too
     
  11. Jackets64

    Jackets64
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    958
    At least my GT 1030 does it's job OK.
     
  12. Mr.Blueboy

    Mr.Blueboy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    You guys are crazy. *then looks at his own sig and shakes his head*
     
  13. Shingo Shoji

    Shingo Shoji
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    I insist you get a Ryzen 2200G or 2400 instead. Better CPU even though only 4c/4t (8t in 2400G) and an iGPU that can rival the GT 1030. The money saved on not getting a discrete GPU can be put toward a new AM4 motherboard.
     
  14. ajz177

    ajz177
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    101
    i5-7200u
     
  15. Jackets64

    Jackets64
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    958
    Speaking of upgrades, I've got one coming this Saturday. I'ts an AMD FX 8300 (3.3 GHz 8-Core)
    [YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS]
     
  16. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    I hate to be the one to burst your bubble, but... you'll be in for a disappointment if you think that's a fast CPU. Its also not truly 8-cores as each core shares components. It's more like a weak quad-core.

    Your old Phenom II might outperform it in certain loads.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  17. Ernest1

    Ernest1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    AMD Threadripper 1950x
     
  18. Krt3k

    Krt3k
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Ryzen 1600 stock with 2933MHz Ram
    EDIT: Now oc'd to 3.8 GHz
     
    #38 Krt3k, May 6, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018
  19. Steveb2002

    Steveb2002
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    i5-7600k OCed to 5GHz
     
  20. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    It has 8 full pipelines and logic units, it is therefore an octacore. It shares peripheral elements that cripple it but do not remotely make it a weak quad core.

    It's shit. But it's not that shit.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice