1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    Solutions and more information may already be available.
  2. GPU Fatal Error? Intel HD Graphics 620/630 Crashes? Help us solve them!
    Dismiss Notice

Why do vehicles SOMETIMES save in the level?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by krallopian, Mar 5, 2019.

  1. krallopian

    krallopian
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    It's always the oppposite of what I want. I don't want those junk cars to be saved - next load they're there. I want THESE cars to be saved, "save level" "resave everything" etc.. annnd they're not saved.

    What's needed to make the cars you spawn, stay in the level you're working on for easy testing purposes? =)
     
  2. SHOme1289

    SHOme1289
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,308
    Not exactly sure what you are talking about, but when you use the "Save" function, it just saves the current state of the vehicle (so, any damage currently on the car) so you can load it up in the same session, but once you restart the game, those vehicle "states" are lost. you cant save a car to a level
     
  3. krallopian

    krallopian
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Sorry by junk I meant, "when I just randomly spawn a couple cars for a test" cars.

    I'm asking:

    Why is it that sometimes 5 spawned cars will save their position in my level, and other times, they don't and it's just my default car.
     
  4. JonasTMT

    JonasTMT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    329
    I think because when you spawn multiple cars in the level they will be called 'clone01' or whatever. When you spawn in the level the default car of the player spawns on the chosen spawnpoint, and overwrites the default car. Added clone cars will stay, because nothing tells them to be gone, but the default will dissapear/ will be overwritten.

    (Added cars are called clones if you look in the world editor, the default car is called player)

    I hope this was understandable, I suck at explaining..
     
  5. krallopian

    krallopian
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Hahah nah don't worry about it =D

    It seems to be:

    If I shift+drag to duplicate a car in the editor, it won't stay. But if I spawn a car with CTRL+E then it does. Probably because of the clone part you're referring to!
     
  6. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,520
    Yes, if you spawn a new car it can be saved with the level.
    The 'Player' vehicle (or clones of it) do not get saved.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. krallopian

    krallopian
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Cool! So if I ctrl+e one car then clone THAT one.. It should stick around then?
     
  8. JonasTMT

    JonasTMT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    329
    It should
    I would say, try it out!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. krallopian

    krallopian
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    (I usually would but I had just jumped into bed heh)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice