1. Stuck, Having problems with creating your mod? Let us help you: Mod Support

Winds! - App

Discussion in 'User Interface Apps' started by CarlosAir, Nov 16, 2014.

  1. CarlosAir

    CarlosAir
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    336
    So, I thought it would be great to share this little and simple app with the forum. It started as a private aid to develop planes, but turned out to be something very fun and very interesting to play with. It's an extremely simple app, but does it's job pretty well, and I'm sure you will enjoy.

    Instructions:

    (imported from here)

    Pretty simple I guess.

    Little video to show what it can do :p :
    [webm=]http://www.beamng.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=46399&d=1416160083[/webm]

    Installation:
    Extract the Winds folder inside the Winds0.4.zip file and copy it to Steam.blah..blah/BeamNG.drive/html/apps/
    (I tried to make the zip ready to be dropped to the mods folder but it didn't seem to work :| )

    Tell me any problem you find, or any improvement or idea you have in mind.

    Have fun ;).
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 CarlosAir, Nov 16, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2014
    • Like Like x 3
  2. estama

    estama
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    241
    Edited (i posted quickly before).

    It is very nice :) .

    Would you mind if it became a part of the installation of .drive ?

    If yes, and you agree with the MIT License of the UI, please do a pull request in github:

    https://github.com/BeamNG/ui
     
    #2 estama, Nov 16, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2014
  3. CarlosAir

    CarlosAir
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    336
    Definitely! ;) I'll first need to learn how that's done though. It shouldn't take long :p.
     
  4. tdev

    tdev
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,835
    oh wow, very nice :D
     
  5. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,201
    The round slider doesn't work for me. I cannot move it much. I can move it only between 250 and 300 degrees.
     
  6. CarlosAir

    CarlosAir
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    336
    Ouch, I thought I had fixed that already. It works fine for me :| . I'll look into it. Temporary solution: Click the bottom right gear icon and simply move the app (a couple of pixels are enough and you can then move it back to were it was). This will trigger a recalculation of the position of the app, hence hopefully bringing everything back to normal. Tell me if that worked.

    --
    Regarding Github, I don't seem to be able to create a branch, simply typing a new name in that kind of search box doesn't show me the option. Do I need to get into Git commands or am I doing something wrong?
     
  7. Bisofication

    Bisofication
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    It's is amazing ! Great job !
     
  8. 14ramosr

    14ramosr
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    992
    This is much more fun than it should be :p and the direction slider didnt work at first, but i reselected the app and it worked afterwards
     
  9. destroyer8769

    destroyer8769
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    552
    How do I get more windspeed? I want to see how much damage can be done.

    Thanks, Destroyer8769
     
  10. Hati

    Hati
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    I want to crank this up to about 8km/s... (orbital velocity) I'll take you up on that help shall I? :p
     
  11. CarlosAir

    CarlosAir
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    336
    Ok. So, to increase the maximum value, do the following:

    --outdated method-- plus I don't recommend increasing the maximum wind

    Open the file Winds/app.js with Notepad++ or similar.
    Edit the the following number in line 43


    (imported from here)

    (remember that the units used are knots)

    Restart BeamNG

    Profit!

    (Don't go too crazy on the values or bad things will happen :p)
     
    #11 CarlosAir, Nov 17, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2014
  12. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,201
    Or Press F11 then exit the editor. Simpler way to reload the UI :3 :p
     
    #12 Dummiesman, Nov 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 17, 2014
  13. iheartmods

    iheartmods
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,480
    Bringing me back to my FSX days when fidling with winds and simulating flying through hurricanes.

    GG dude, awesome concept!
     
  14. CarlosAir

    CarlosAir
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    336
    FSX Rocks! I still use it :p.
     
  15. gmaksi83

    gmaksi83
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    358
    thanks for this cool app!
    keep up the good work. hope i see more from you!
    sporty high speed test:p
    screenshot_00045.png
     
  16. Hati

    Hati
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    noted, anything above 999 removes the slider. Meaning once the winds are at orbital velocities you can't change it.
     
  17. CarlosAir

    CarlosAir
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    336
    That's not done in purpose. That's simply caused by the now 4-digit number taking up the space of the slider making it disappear.
    That's easy to fix, though I don't think you should be setting it up at such high speeds anyway :p.

    - - - Updated - - -

    New Small Update. Changelog:

    -Units support (m/s, knots, km/h and mph available). Click the number to change it.

    -The maximum wind speed allowed has been increased to 485kts (almost 900 km/h), as you guys seem to only enjoy really strong winds :p.
    And now it is a lot easier to change that number. Edit app.js and you will find a variable called maxSpeed in one of the very first lines that reads 250. Remember that those are m/s. And also the problem Hati said has been fixed, though be a aware long numbers might get hidden under the slider.

    Anyway, I strongly suggest you don't change anything, 900 km/h wind is definitely more than enough to have fun ;), going beyond that might brake game stuff and produce unwanted results.

    -Improved interface. Especially the bottom slider. (look at the image in the op)

    -Some polishing in other areas

    I hope there's nothing broken in the new version as I haven't had that much time to test it.

    Report any problems and let me know if the problem that kept the circular slider from working the first time persists!
     
  18. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,201
    Parts of that slider seem familiar. Hm ;)

    Great updates :)
     
  19. CarlosAir

    CarlosAir
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    336
    Well, indeed.
    I struggled for quite a long time to make css changes to the slider work.
    Those couple weird Css lines finally did the trick.
    I hope you don't mind.
    So Thanks! ;)
     
    #19 CarlosAir, Nov 17, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2014
  20. theshark

    theshark
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Very nice app :)

    code looks very good too.
    - Everything is in its scope
    - no global varibales
    - nice css (own scope, no id's used)

    this gets my personal "app of the year"-award :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice