0.10.0.1 Discussion/Feedback/Bugs-Reporting Thread - READ #1 POST!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nadeox1, Aug 7, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stenyak

    stenyak
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,336
    It will be possible to add if we implement rope physics, but not at this moment. Rope physics are not currently in our short term plans.
     
  2. fivedollarlamp

    fivedollarlamp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,675
    ok cool. good 2 know.
     
  3. DriftinCovet1987

    DriftinCovet1987
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    888
    So, about this whole shifting argument....I decided to see if it was faster to shift with assists or without assists by using the T65 Fifth Wheel Upfit around the Industrial Rallycross and Racetrack Perimeter layouts, as that would require a LOT of shifting to go quickly. Here's the results I got from 2 2-lap races around the rallycross track, and 4 3-lap rounds around the racetrack.
    Please note: I was using a keyboard to achieve these times.
    Rallycross Perimeter, with assists:
    Best Lap: 1:04.800
    Total Time: 2:18.496
    Start Lap: 1:13.696
    screenshot_01055.png
    Rallycross Perimeter, without assists:
    Best Lap: 1:04.100
    Total Time: 2:15.950
    Start Lap: 1:11.850
    screenshot_01056.png
    Racetrack Perimeter, with assists:
    Best Lap: 48.600
    Total Time: 2:35.450
    Start Lap: 57.150
    screenshot_01057.png
    Racetrack Perimeter, without assists:
    Best Lap: 48.200
    Total Time: 2:30.450
    Start Lap: 53.800
    screenshot_01058.png

    As you can see, the fastest laps were separated by less than a second (and at the racetrack, by less than half-a-second), but the total times were separated by 2-5 seconds, despite my keeping of almost-identical times at the racetrack.

    Not satisfied with these results, I decided to switch the order around this morning, and try the T65 at the track again.
    Racetrack Perimeter #2, without assists:
    Best Lap: 48.000
    Total Time: 2:30.500
    Start Lap: 53.850
    screenshot_01059.png
    Racetrack Perimeter #2, with assists:
    Best Lap: 48.000
    Total Time: 2:33.050
    Start Lap: 56.850
    screenshot_01060.png

    Again, a 3-second difference between the totals, despite me acheiving the exact same fastest lap. However...I was completely dissatisfied with these results, so I decided to go to the autocross courses, specifically this seed: 8972364587.

    Autocross, without assists:
    Best Lap: 1:39.413
    Total Time: 5:01.561
    Start Lap: 1:41.798
    screenshot_01065.png
    Autocross, with assists:
    Best Lap: 1:41.900
    Total Time: 5:08.415
    Start Lap: 1:44.837
    screenshot_01066.png
    At the autocross course, there was a seven second difference in total times, and a two second difference in fastest-lap times with almost-identical driving styles. That, to me at least, is quite definitive evidence that the new shifting system isn't as detrimental in spirited driving as many people think. Sure, if you have a problem with it, by all means, report that problem, but it doesn't have much effect on my driving.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. BombBoy4

    BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,584
    https://www.beamng.com/resources/old-thumbnails.2640/
    It's not official, but it was made with the thumbnail generator app.
     
  5. Gregory TheGamer

    Gregory TheGamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    832
    While this is not is not a bug, it sure is annoying that the flatbed trailer does have a slope section at the front of the trailer to push the trailer up when the fifth wheel goes under it, and the other two (Dry Van & Tanker) don't have this. This makes it very hard to couple these two types of trailers if you have equipped the lifted suspension.
     
  6. Godzilla!

    Godzilla!
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2,228
    The Sunburst's RS front bumper has a misaligned UV map.
    screenshot_03414.png screenshot_03415.png

    Looks horrible with a custom skin.
    screenshot_03416.png
     
    #766 Godzilla!, Oct 7, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2017
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,533
    upload_2017-10-8_10-30-45.png
    This happened...
    *edit* it faded away after 5 seconds anyway
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. RetroStevie

    RetroStevie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    The tow hitch on the I-Series with the double exhaust goes through one of the exhaust tip.
     
  9. rocksim

    rocksim
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    370
    Something else, as well: could we have a check box that says “only show in cockpit” so we can have a gear or speedo (or anything really) while inside a vehicle, but have a different one when we go outside?
     
  10. enjoyinorc6742

    enjoyinorc6742
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,613
    found a rare......ish bug. was doing airport showdown with a custom config. paused right after the only checkpoint to look back, i managed to break the front sub frame off and have the engine still run. this one of those rare but very funny non gamebreaking bugs.
    20171014220424_1.jpg
     
  11. YellowRusty

    YellowRusty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,077
    Isn't that theoretically possible, at least until the fuel left in the engine itself and any remaining lines is exhausted?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. enjoyinorc6742

    enjoyinorc6742
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,613
    perhaps but it ran for a long while, especially at full throttle.
     
  13. Physics

    Physics
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Drift steering on pessima is still broken
     
  14. Peepsed

    Peepsed
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    I'm having an issue where after spawning some number of objects like say 8 cars Beam refuse to load the vehicles menu, its just a blank white page. Trying to clone another in the World Editor tends to just make the game crash with a 0x0000001 error.

    The memory usage seems to never increase much beyond 2GB either, looking at it from the task manager. I'm running Windows 10 64bit with 16GB of ram and plenty available when I'm playing the game.
     
  15. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,641
    Maybe you have too many 'apps' on your UI, or something is throwing errors.
    1) Disable all mods first
    2) Remove some/all UI apps ( https://wiki.beamng.com/Editing_UI )
    And check again
     
  16. MRcrash

    MRcrash
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,229
    I started beamng on steam and it started to download 2.5 GB of something. I don´t see any uptade news so what is it then? I didn´t edit any game files.
     
  17. YellowRusty

    YellowRusty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,077
    Steam itself released an update yesterday - maybe double-check to see if that's it?
     
  18. MRcrash

    MRcrash
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,229
    sn.jpg
    I had newest version of course.
     
  19. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,533
    woah I just realised that at high altitude in BeamNG you can run out of power, like there is the big ramp aerodynamics benchmark map and the cars stall when put into drive, but if you fall and respawn they run just like normal, how amazing! (and btw do you guys use temperature in the pressure calculation?)
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  20. Peepsed

    Peepsed
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    I have more luck with disabling mods, because without the mods the game uses less memory and has more overhead. But every time I hit that 2.2GB mark (2196MB according to task manager) the spawn menu refuses to load and the game is close to crashing.

    I just wish it would use more of my available memory if it needs to.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice